Erika Brown

Complete U.S. Olympic Team pending USOC approval

4 Comments

The U.S. is slated to send the largest number of athletes to a Winter Olympics by any nation ever.

A total of 230 athletes have been nominated to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team.

If they are all approved by the U.S. Olympic Committee, as expected, the U.S. will field the largest athlete delegation for the 13th straight Winter Games.

Host Russia will reportedly have 223 athletes. The last time another country had more athletes than the U.S. at the Winter Olympics was Germany in 1964, according to Olympic historian Bill Mallon.

The youngest athlete nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team was slopestyle skier Maggie Voisin, who was born on Dec. 14, 1998.

Voisin would be the youngest U.S. Winter Olympian since curler Erika Brown in 1988, if you count Brown’s participation in a demonstration sport, which curling was at the time.

If Brown is not counted, Voisin is the youngest since 1972, according to sports-reference.com.

Brown, now 41, was also nominated to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team.

Brown reflects on 1988 Olympics

The five oldest athletes nominated were all curlers — Ann Swisshelm (45), Brown (41), Allison Pottinger (40), Debbie McCormick (40) and Brown’s younger brother, Craig Brown (38).

The oldest non-curler was Nordic combined skier Todd Lodwick, who is 37 and set for a record sixth Winter Olympics by an American as long as his shoulder holds up.

The median age of the 230 athletes is about 26.5 years.

Erika Brown was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 1988 Olympics, again if curling then counts.

Lodwick was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 1994 Olympics.

Erika Brown, McCormick, Lodwick, Nordic combined skier Bill Demong and Alpine skier Bode Miller were the only athletes nominated who competed at the 1998 Olympics.

Bobsledder Lauryn Williams was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 2004 Summer Olympics. Williams and fellow bobsledder Lolo Jones were the only athletes nominated who competed at the 2008 and 2012 Summer Olympics.

Here is the full list of athletes nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team:

Aerials
Mac Bohonnon — @macbohonnon
Ashley Caldwell — @ashleyskis
Emily Cook — @emilycook

Alpine Skiing
David Chodounsky
Erik Fisher — @skifastfish
Travis Ganong — @travisganong
Jared Goldberg — @jared_goldberg
Tim Jitloff — @t_jit
Nolan Kasper — @nolankasper
Ted Ligety — @tedligety
Bode Miller — @millerbode
Steven Nyman — @believeinsteven
Marco Sullivan — @marcosullivan
Andrew Weibrecht — @a_weibrecht
Stacey Cook — @staceycookusa
Julia Ford — @juliawford
Julia Mancuso — @juliamancuso
Megan McJames
Laurenne Ross — @lalalalaurenne
Mikaela Shiffrin — @mikaelashiffrin
Leanne Smith
Resi Stiegler — @resistiegler
Jacqueline Wiles — @skierchick53

Biathlon
Lowell Bailey — @lowellcbailey
Tim Burke — @tb_burke
Russell Currier — @russellcurrier
Sean Doherty
Leif Nordgren — @lcnordgren
Lanny Barnes
Annelies Cook
Hannah Dreissigacker
Susan Dunklee — @susandunklee
Sara Studebaker — @sarastudebaker

Bobsled
Cory Butner — @corybutner
Nick Cunningham — @bobsledr
Chris Fogt — @christopherfogt
Steven Holcomb — @stevenholcomb
Steve Langton — @stevenlangton
Justin Olsen — @justinbolsen
Johnny Quinn — @johnnyquinnusa
Dallas Robinson — @drobusa
Curt Tomasevicz — @ctomasevicz
Aja Evans — @ajalevans
Jazmine Fenlator — @jazminefenlator
Jamie Greubel — @jamiegreubel
Lolo Jones — @lolojones
Elana Meyers — @eamslider24
Lauryn Williams — @lauryncwilliams

Cross-Country Skiing
Erik Bjornsen — @erikbjornsen
Kris Freeman — @teamfreebirdxc
Brian Gregg — @xcskilifebg
Simi Hamilton — @simihamilton
Noah Hoffman
Torin Koos
Andy Newell — @andynewellskier
Sadie Bjornsen — @sadzarue
Holly Brooks — @brooksha1
Sophie Caldwell — @dophed
Jessie Diggins — @jessdiggs
Kikkan Randall — @kikkanimal
Ida Sargent — @idasargent
Liz Stephen — @lizstephen

Curling
Craig Brown
Jeff Isaacson
John Landsteiner — @jlandsteiner
John Shuster — @shoostie2010
Jared Zezel — @jaredzezel04
Erika Brown — @ebrowncurls
Debbie McCormick — @deb_mccormick
Allison Pottinger — @apottinger
Jessica Schultz — @jess_curls
Ann Swisshelm — @curlannie

Figure Skating
Polina Edmunds — @polinaedmunds
Gracie Gold — @graceegold
Ashley Wagner — @ashwagner2010
Jeremy Abbott — @jeremyabbottpcf
Jason Brown — @jasonbskates
Madison Chock — @chockolate02
Evan Bates — @evan_bates
Meryl Davis — @meryl_davis
Charlie White — @charlieawhite
Maia Shibutani — @maiashibutani
Alex Shibutani — @alexshibutani
Marissa Castelli — @marissacastelli
Simon Shnapir — @simonshnapir
Felicia Zhang — @felicia_zhang
Nathan Bartholomay — @natebartholomay

Hockey
David Backes — @dbackes42
Dustin Brown — @dustinbrown23
Ryan Callahan — @ryancallahan24
John Carlson — @johncarlson74
Justin Faulk — @justinfaulk27
Cam Fowler — @c_fowler4
Jimmy Howard
Patrick Kane — @88pkane
Ryan Kesler — @ryan_kesler
Phil Kessel — @pkessel81
Paul Martin
Ryan McDonagh — @rmcdonagh27
Ryan Miller — @ryanmiller3039
Brooks Orpik
T.J. Oshie — @osh74
Max Pacioretty
Zach Parise
Joe Pavelski
Jonathan Quick — @jonathanquick32
Kevin Shattenkirk — @shattdeuces
Paul Stastny — @paulywalnuts26
Derek Stepan — @derekstepan21
Ryan Suter — @rsuter20
James van Riemsdyk — @jvreemer21
Blake Wheeler — @biggiefunke
Kacey Bellamy — @kbells22
Megan Bozek — @meganebozek
Alex Carpenter — @carpy05
Julie Chu — @juliechu13
Kendall Coyne — @kendallcoyne
Brianna Decker — @bdecker1814
Meghan Duggan — @mduggan10
Lyndsey Fry — @fry_x_cycle
Amanda Kessel — @amandakessel8
Hilary Knight — @hilary_knight
Jocelyne Lamoureux — @jocelyneusa17
Monique Lamoureux — @moniquelam7
Gigi Marvin — @gigimarvin
Brianne McLaughlin — @briannemcl
Michelle Picard — @shellfish20
Josephine Pucci — @josephinepucci
Molly Schaus — @schaus729
Anne Schleper — @_aschlep
Kelli Stack — @kstack16
Lee Stecklein — @leesteck2
Jessie Vetter — @vetter31

Luge
Aidan Kelly — @aidankellyusa
Chris Mazdzer — @mazdzer
Tucker West — @tuckerwest1
Summer Britcher — @summerbritcher
Erin Hamlin — @erinhamlin
Kate Hansen — @k8ertotz
Preston Griffall — @prestongriffall
Matt Mortensen — @mattmortensen_
Christian Niccum
Jayson Terdiman — @jterdimanusa

Moguls
Patrick Deneen — @patrick_deneen
Brad Wilson — @wilsfreestyle
Hannah Kearney — @hk_ski
Heidi Kloser — @heidikloser
Heather McPhie — @heathermcphie
Eliza Outtrim

Nordic Combined
Bill Demong — @billydemong
Bryan Fletcher — @skifletch
Taylor Fletcher — @tfletchernordic
Todd Lodwick

Short Track Speed Skating
Eddy Alvarez — @eddyalvarez90
Kyle Carr — @ckylecarr
J.R. Celski — @jrcelski
Chris Creveling — @tophcrev
Jordan Malone — @j2k111
Alyson Dudek — @alydudek
Emily Scott — @emscott89
Jessica Smith — @thejessicasmith

Skeleton
Matt Antoine — @mattantoine
John Daly — @johndalyusa
Kyle Tress — @kyletress
Noelle Pikus-Pace — @noellepikuspace
Katie Uhlaender — @katieu11

Ski Cross
John Teller — @john_teller

Ski Halfpipe
Aaron Blunck — @aaron_blunck
Lyman Currier — @urmotherlovesme
Torin Yater-Wallace — @torinwallace
David Wise — @mrdavidwise
Maddie Bowman — @maddiebowman
Annalisa Drew — @anna_drew_
Brita Sigourney — @britasig
Angeli VanLaanen — @angeli_v

Ski Jumping
Nick Alexander — @skiflyzander
Nick Fairall — @nick_fairall
Peter Frenette — @pfskijumping
Anders Johnson — @flyingaj
Sarah Hendrickson — @schendrickson
Jessica Jerome — @jessicajerome
Lindsey Van — @lindseyvan

Ski Slopestyle
Bobby Brown — @bobby_brown1
Joss Christensen — @josschristensen
Nick Goepper — @nickgoepper
Gus Kenworthy — @guskenworthy
Keri Herman — @keriherman
Julia Krass — @juliakrass15
Devin Logan — @dlogan
Maggie Voisin — @skimagg123

Snowboard Alpine
Justin Reiter — @justin_reiter

Snowboard Cross
Nick Baumgartner — @nickbaumgartner
Alex Deibold — @adeibold
Nate Holland — @n8holland
Trevor Jacob — @trevorjacob93
Faye Gulini — @fayegulini
Jackie Hernandez — @jackiepatty_
Lindsey Jacobellis — @lindsjacobellis

Snowboard Halfpipe
Greg Bretz — @gregbretzz
Danny Davis — @theddeadshow
Taylor Gold — @taylor_gold
Shaun White — @shaun_white
Kelly Clark — @kellyclarkfdn
Kaitlyn Farrington — @kaitlynfarr
Arielle Gold — @arielletgold
Hannah Teter — @hannahteter

Snowboard Slopestyle
Chas Guldemond — @chasguldemond
Sage Kotsenburg — @sagekotsenburg
Ryan Stassel
Shaun White — @shaun_white
Jamie Anderson — @jme_anderson
Jessika Jenson
Karly Shorr — @karlyshorr
Ty Walker — @ty_walker_

Speed Skating
Shani Davis — @shanidavis
Tucker Fredricks — @tuckerfredricks
Jonathan Garcia — @jagarcia23
Brian Hansen — @brianthansen
Jonathan Kuck — @jdkuck
Emery Lehman — @mry_the_eman
Joey Mantia — @jrmantia
Patrick Meek — @patjmeek
Mitch Whitmore — @whitmoreusa
Brittany Bowe — @brittanybowe
Lauren Cholewinski — @lmcholewinski
Kelly Gunther — @kellyagunther
Maria Lamb — @mariatlamb
Heather Richardson — @hlynnrichardson
Anna Ringsred — @annaringsred
Jilleanne Rookard — @jmrookard
Sugar Todd — @sugarmotion

Five events to watch at Prefontaine Classic; broadcast schedule

Vashti Cunningham
Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Prefontaine Classic fields are so stacked that it is the best Diamond League meet so far this season, even with the reported absences of Allyson FelixGenzebe Dibaba, Matthew Centrowitz and Galen Rupp.

In addition to Olympic sprint champion headliners Shelly-Ann Fraser-PryceJustin GatlinSanya Richards-Ross and LaShawn Merritt, the meet features duels between reigning Olympic and World champions in multiple events.

The Diamond League’s lone trip to the U.S. doubles as the best gauge of form this spring ahead of the U.S. Olympic Trials (July 1-10).

The annual meet in Eugene, Ore., is a Friday-Saturday affair:

Friday
USATF.TV — 11:20 p.m. ET

Saturday
NBCSN and NBC Sports Live Extra — 3:30-5 p.m. ET
NBC and NBC Sports Live Extra — 5-6 p.m. ET

Here are the start lists. Here is the schedule of events (all times Eastern):

Friday
9:55 p.m. — Men’s hammer throw
11:11 — Women’s long jump
11:15 — Women’s discus
11:18 — Men’s shot put
11:37 — Women’s 800m
11:53 — Men’s 10,000m
12:27 a.m. (Saturday) — Women’s 5000m

Saturday
3:15 p.m. — Men’s triple jump
3:18 — Men’s pole vault
3:33 — Men’s 110m hurdles
3:42 — Men’s mile
3:53 — Women’s 100m
4:03 — Men’s 400m hurdles
4:09 — Women’s high jump
4:12 — Women’s 3000m steeplechase
4:26 — Men’s 800m
4:32 — Men’s javelin
4:35 — Men’s 400m
4:43 — Men’s 5000m
5:04 — Women’s 200m
5:13 — Men’s 100m
5:22 — Women’s 1500m
5:33 — Women’s 100m hurdles
5:42 — Women’s 400m
5:51 — Men’s Bowerman Mile

Here are five events to watch (all times Eastern):

Women’s long jump — Friday, 11:11 p.m.

The most loaded field event of the meet. It includes five of the six women to earn medals at the 2012 Olympics and 2015 World Championships, with the lone absentee a Russian who is ineligible to compete due to the country’s ban.

It’s headlined by Olympic champion Brittney Reese and World champion Tianna Bartoletta, both Americans. There’s also reigning World silver and bronze medalists Shara Proctor of Great Britain and Ivana Španović of Serbia and U.S. Olympic bronze medalist Janay DeLoach.

Men’s pole vault — Saturday, 3:18 p.m.

The U.S. is suddenly a factor in this event, after Sam Kendricks became the first American man to win a Diamond League contest on May 14 in Shanghai. The 23-year-old Kendricks has the highest clearance in the world this year at 5.92 meters, higher than anybody from the 2015 World Championships and any American since 2008.

In Eugene, Kendricks will face Olympic champion and world-record holder Renaud Lavillenie of France and World champion Shawn Barber of Canada in a rematch of Shanghai.

Women’s high jump — Saturday, 4:09 p.m.

World Indoor champion Vashti Cunningham is the star here. The 18-year-old daughter of retired NFL Pro Bowl quarterback Randall Cunningham could be an Olympic medal favorite, especially if Russians aren’t allowed to compete in Rio.

Russians took two of three medals at the 2012 Olympics and the 2015 World Championships.

Without them in Eugene, Cunningham could very well beat a field that includes 2013 World bronze medalist Ruth Beitia of Spain and 2005 World silver medalist Chaunté Lowe, a strong opponent for Cunningham at the Olympic Trials on July 3. Lowe is 14 years older than Cunningham. Beitia is 19 years older.

Men’s 100m — Saturday, 5:13 p.m.

Three of the five fastest men of all time line up here in Justin GatlinTyson Gay and Asafa Powell, who were all born in 1982 and likely all seeking one last Olympics in Rio.

Joining them is Andre De Grasse, the 21-year-old Canadian who shared bronze at August’s World Championships behind Usain Bolt and Gatlin.

Gatlin will be the favorite, given he is 31-2 in individual sprints since the start of 2014 with the only losses coming to Bolt at Worlds last summer.

Women’s 100m hurdles — Saturday, 5:33 p.m.

With six Americans in the field of eight, this is arguably the closest event to a U.S. Olympic Trials field. It includes six of the seven fastest women in the world last year.

Only the top three at the Olympic Trials on July 8 make the team for Rio. The top finishers Saturday among 2008 Olympic champion Dawn Harper-Nelson, 2013 World champion Brianna RollinsNia AliKeni HarrisonSharika Nelvis and Jasmin Stowers will become favorites to make Team USA.

MORE: Usain Bolt set to race two biggest Jamaican rivals

Slovakia eyes Peter Sagan in mountain bike at Olympics

Peter Sagan
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Peter Sagan, the reigning World road race champion, could also compete in mountain biking at the Rio Olympics if the Slovakian Cycling Federation has its way.

The federation requested a second Olympic mountain bike quota spot specifically for Sagan, in addition to the one it earned through results from its regular mountain bikers. It awaits a response from the International Cycling Union (UCI).

“We think, if Peter will present in MTB cross-country in Rio, it would be a benefit to all cycling, not only for Slovakia,” a Slovakian Cycling Federation official said in an email. “However, it depends on the terms of the UCI.”

Sagan won the World junior title in mountain biking at age 18 in 2008 before focusing primarily on road racing. He did compete in two mountain bike events earlier this year.

Sagan has entered four Tours de France and won the green jersey in all of them as the top sprinter, amassing four individual stage wins along the way. He also owns four Vuelta a España stage wins.

He was 34th in his Olympic debut at the London 2012 road race.

No cyclist has earned Olympic road and mountain bike medals.

Slovakia owns zero Olympic cycling medals since splitting from the Czech Republic starting with Atlanta 1996.

VIDEO: Marianne Vos crashes hard