Erika Brown

Complete U.S. Olympic Team pending USOC approval

4 Comments

The U.S. is slated to send the largest number of athletes to a Winter Olympics by any nation ever.

A total of 230 athletes have been nominated to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team.

If they are all approved by the U.S. Olympic Committee, as expected, the U.S. will field the largest athlete delegation for the 13th straight Winter Games.

Host Russia will reportedly have 223 athletes. The last time another country had more athletes than the U.S. at the Winter Olympics was Germany in 1964, according to Olympic historian Bill Mallon.

The youngest athlete nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team was slopestyle skier Maggie Voisin, who was born on Dec. 14, 1998.

Voisin would be the youngest U.S. Winter Olympian since curler Erika Brown in 1988, if you count Brown’s participation in a demonstration sport, which curling was at the time.

If Brown is not counted, Voisin is the youngest since 1972, according to sports-reference.com.

Brown, now 41, was also nominated to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team.

Brown reflects on 1988 Olympics

The five oldest athletes nominated were all curlers — Ann Swisshelm (45), Brown (41), Allison Pottinger (40), Debbie McCormick (40) and Brown’s younger brother, Craig Brown (38).

The oldest non-curler was Nordic combined skier Todd Lodwick, who is 37 and set for a record sixth Winter Olympics by an American as long as his shoulder holds up.

The median age of the 230 athletes is about 26.5 years.

Erika Brown was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 1988 Olympics, again if curling then counts.

Lodwick was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 1994 Olympics.

Erika Brown, McCormick, Lodwick, Nordic combined skier Bill Demong and Alpine skier Bode Miller were the only athletes nominated who competed at the 1998 Olympics.

Bobsledder Lauryn Williams was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 2004 Summer Olympics. Williams and fellow bobsledder Lolo Jones were the only athletes nominated who competed at the 2008 and 2012 Summer Olympics.

Here is the full list of athletes nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team:

Aerials
Mac Bohonnon — @macbohonnon
Ashley Caldwell — @ashleyskis
Emily Cook — @emilycook

Alpine Skiing
David Chodounsky
Erik Fisher — @skifastfish
Travis Ganong — @travisganong
Jared Goldberg — @jared_goldberg
Tim Jitloff — @t_jit
Nolan Kasper — @nolankasper
Ted Ligety — @tedligety
Bode Miller — @millerbode
Steven Nyman — @believeinsteven
Marco Sullivan — @marcosullivan
Andrew Weibrecht — @a_weibrecht
Stacey Cook — @staceycookusa
Julia Ford — @juliawford
Julia Mancuso — @juliamancuso
Megan McJames
Laurenne Ross — @lalalalaurenne
Mikaela Shiffrin — @mikaelashiffrin
Leanne Smith
Resi Stiegler — @resistiegler
Jacqueline Wiles — @skierchick53

Biathlon
Lowell Bailey — @lowellcbailey
Tim Burke — @tb_burke
Russell Currier — @russellcurrier
Sean Doherty
Leif Nordgren — @lcnordgren
Lanny Barnes
Annelies Cook
Hannah Dreissigacker
Susan Dunklee — @susandunklee
Sara Studebaker — @sarastudebaker

Bobsled
Cory Butner — @corybutner
Nick Cunningham — @bobsledr
Chris Fogt — @christopherfogt
Steven Holcomb — @stevenholcomb
Steve Langton — @stevenlangton
Justin Olsen — @justinbolsen
Johnny Quinn — @johnnyquinnusa
Dallas Robinson — @drobusa
Curt Tomasevicz — @ctomasevicz
Aja Evans — @ajalevans
Jazmine Fenlator — @jazminefenlator
Jamie Greubel — @jamiegreubel
Lolo Jones — @lolojones
Elana Meyers — @eamslider24
Lauryn Williams — @lauryncwilliams

Cross-Country Skiing
Erik Bjornsen — @erikbjornsen
Kris Freeman — @teamfreebirdxc
Brian Gregg — @xcskilifebg
Simi Hamilton — @simihamilton
Noah Hoffman
Torin Koos
Andy Newell — @andynewellskier
Sadie Bjornsen — @sadzarue
Holly Brooks — @brooksha1
Sophie Caldwell — @dophed
Jessie Diggins — @jessdiggs
Kikkan Randall — @kikkanimal
Ida Sargent — @idasargent
Liz Stephen — @lizstephen

Curling
Craig Brown
Jeff Isaacson
John Landsteiner — @jlandsteiner
John Shuster — @shoostie2010
Jared Zezel — @jaredzezel04
Erika Brown — @ebrowncurls
Debbie McCormick — @deb_mccormick
Allison Pottinger — @apottinger
Jessica Schultz — @jess_curls
Ann Swisshelm — @curlannie

Figure Skating
Polina Edmunds — @polinaedmunds
Gracie Gold — @graceegold
Ashley Wagner — @ashwagner2010
Jeremy Abbott — @jeremyabbottpcf
Jason Brown — @jasonbskates
Madison Chock — @chockolate02
Evan Bates — @evan_bates
Meryl Davis — @meryl_davis
Charlie White — @charlieawhite
Maia Shibutani — @maiashibutani
Alex Shibutani — @alexshibutani
Marissa Castelli — @marissacastelli
Simon Shnapir — @simonshnapir
Felicia Zhang — @felicia_zhang
Nathan Bartholomay — @natebartholomay

Hockey
David Backes — @dbackes42
Dustin Brown — @dustinbrown23
Ryan Callahan — @ryancallahan24
John Carlson — @johncarlson74
Justin Faulk — @justinfaulk27
Cam Fowler — @c_fowler4
Jimmy Howard
Patrick Kane — @88pkane
Ryan Kesler — @ryan_kesler
Phil Kessel — @pkessel81
Paul Martin
Ryan McDonagh — @rmcdonagh27
Ryan Miller — @ryanmiller3039
Brooks Orpik
T.J. Oshie — @osh74
Max Pacioretty
Zach Parise
Joe Pavelski
Jonathan Quick — @jonathanquick32
Kevin Shattenkirk — @shattdeuces
Paul Stastny — @paulywalnuts26
Derek Stepan — @derekstepan21
Ryan Suter — @rsuter20
James van Riemsdyk — @jvreemer21
Blake Wheeler — @biggiefunke
Kacey Bellamy — @kbells22
Megan Bozek — @meganebozek
Alex Carpenter — @carpy05
Julie Chu — @juliechu13
Kendall Coyne — @kendallcoyne
Brianna Decker — @bdecker1814
Meghan Duggan — @mduggan10
Lyndsey Fry — @fry_x_cycle
Amanda Kessel — @amandakessel8
Hilary Knight — @hilary_knight
Jocelyne Lamoureux — @jocelyneusa17
Monique Lamoureux — @moniquelam7
Gigi Marvin — @gigimarvin
Brianne McLaughlin — @briannemcl
Michelle Picard — @shellfish20
Josephine Pucci — @josephinepucci
Molly Schaus — @schaus729
Anne Schleper — @_aschlep
Kelli Stack — @kstack16
Lee Stecklein — @leesteck2
Jessie Vetter — @vetter31

Luge
Aidan Kelly — @aidankellyusa
Chris Mazdzer — @mazdzer
Tucker West — @tuckerwest1
Summer Britcher — @summerbritcher
Erin Hamlin — @erinhamlin
Kate Hansen — @k8ertotz
Preston Griffall — @prestongriffall
Matt Mortensen — @mattmortensen_
Christian Niccum
Jayson Terdiman — @jterdimanusa

Moguls
Patrick Deneen — @patrick_deneen
Brad Wilson — @wilsfreestyle
Hannah Kearney — @hk_ski
Heidi Kloser — @heidikloser
Heather McPhie — @heathermcphie
Eliza Outtrim

Nordic Combined
Bill Demong — @billydemong
Bryan Fletcher — @skifletch
Taylor Fletcher — @tfletchernordic
Todd Lodwick

Short Track Speed Skating
Eddy Alvarez — @eddyalvarez90
Kyle Carr — @ckylecarr
J.R. Celski — @jrcelski
Chris Creveling — @tophcrev
Jordan Malone — @j2k111
Alyson Dudek — @alydudek
Emily Scott — @emscott89
Jessica Smith — @thejessicasmith

Skeleton
Matt Antoine — @mattantoine
John Daly — @johndalyusa
Kyle Tress — @kyletress
Noelle Pikus-Pace — @noellepikuspace
Katie Uhlaender — @katieu11

Ski Cross
John Teller — @john_teller

Ski Halfpipe
Aaron Blunck — @aaron_blunck
Lyman Currier — @urmotherlovesme
Torin Yater-Wallace — @torinwallace
David Wise — @mrdavidwise
Maddie Bowman — @maddiebowman
Annalisa Drew — @anna_drew_
Brita Sigourney — @britasig
Angeli VanLaanen — @angeli_v

Ski Jumping
Nick Alexander — @skiflyzander
Nick Fairall — @nick_fairall
Peter Frenette — @pfskijumping
Anders Johnson — @flyingaj
Sarah Hendrickson — @schendrickson
Jessica Jerome — @jessicajerome
Lindsey Van — @lindseyvan

Ski Slopestyle
Bobby Brown — @bobby_brown1
Joss Christensen — @josschristensen
Nick Goepper — @nickgoepper
Gus Kenworthy — @guskenworthy
Keri Herman — @keriherman
Julia Krass — @juliakrass15
Devin Logan — @dlogan
Maggie Voisin — @skimagg123

Snowboard Alpine
Justin Reiter — @justin_reiter

Snowboard Cross
Nick Baumgartner — @nickbaumgartner
Alex Deibold — @adeibold
Nate Holland — @n8holland
Trevor Jacob — @trevorjacob93
Faye Gulini — @fayegulini
Jackie Hernandez — @jackiepatty_
Lindsey Jacobellis — @lindsjacobellis

Snowboard Halfpipe
Greg Bretz — @gregbretzz
Danny Davis — @theddeadshow
Taylor Gold — @taylor_gold
Shaun White — @shaun_white
Kelly Clark — @kellyclarkfdn
Kaitlyn Farrington — @kaitlynfarr
Arielle Gold — @arielletgold
Hannah Teter — @hannahteter

Snowboard Slopestyle
Chas Guldemond — @chasguldemond
Sage Kotsenburg — @sagekotsenburg
Ryan Stassel
Shaun White — @shaun_white
Jamie Anderson — @jme_anderson
Jessika Jenson
Karly Shorr — @karlyshorr
Ty Walker — @ty_walker_

Speed Skating
Shani Davis — @shanidavis
Tucker Fredricks — @tuckerfredricks
Jonathan Garcia — @jagarcia23
Brian Hansen — @brianthansen
Jonathan Kuck — @jdkuck
Emery Lehman — @mry_the_eman
Joey Mantia — @jrmantia
Patrick Meek — @patjmeek
Mitch Whitmore — @whitmoreusa
Brittany Bowe — @brittanybowe
Lauren Cholewinski — @lmcholewinski
Kelly Gunther — @kellyagunther
Maria Lamb — @mariatlamb
Heather Richardson — @hlynnrichardson
Anna Ringsred — @annaringsred
Jilleanne Rookard — @jmrookard
Sugar Todd — @sugarmotion

Pyeongchang Olympic organizers optimistic with 500 days to go

Security personnel stands by a logo of the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games before an event to mark the start of the 500-day countdown in Seoul, South Korea, Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2016. With 500 days until the Olympic cauldron is ignited in Pyeongchang, organizers of the 2018 Winter Games say 90 percent of construction on new venues is complete and the focus of preparations is on test events. (AP Photo/Lee Jin-man)
AP Images
Leave a comment

SEOUL, South Korea (AP) — Marking the 500-day countdown to the Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, organizers said Tuesday that 90 percent of construction of new venues is complete and the focus is now on preparing for test events.

Pyeongchang’s organizing committee said construction is on schedule for a series of sports competitions scheduled from November to April that will serve as rehearsals for the Olympics, which begin Feb. 9, 2018.

The six new competition venues for the games are now 88 percent complete and a new high-speed rail line – designed to link the country’s main gateway of Incheon airport with Pyeongchang in less than two hours – will be completed next June and start operations in January 2018, organizers said.

The preparations are undergoing a transition from the “planning phase to operational readiness,” the organizing committee said in a statement.

“Asia has immeasurable potential to become the frontier of winter sports. Pyeongchang has been dedicated to promote winter sports and attract investments throughout Asia,” the committee said.

Noting that the 2018 Games will be the first of three consecutive Olympics in Asia, the committee said Pyeongchang will be an “opportunity to establish even closer links among the next host countries and build bridges through sports.”

Tokyo will host the 2020 Summer Olympics, while Beijing will stage the 2022 Winter Games.

Pyeongchang organizers have overcome delays, local conflicts over venue constructions and difficulties attracting domestic sponsorships in past years. Optimism over preparations has increased after the successful hosting of the first round of test events at Alpine venues earlier this year.

Despite a slow start, organizers say more than 80 percent of the domestic sponsorship target of $850 million has been met and that they expect to reach 90 percent of the target by the end of the year.

A program of cultural events featuring pop singers and local sports stars was held in Seoul on Tuesday evening to mark the start of the countdown.

MORE: 500 Days to Pyeongchang: Five athletes to watch

500 Days to Pyeongchang: Five athletes to watch

PARK CITY, UT - FEBRUARY 06:  Chloe Kim celebrates a first place finish in the ladies' FIS Snowboard World Cup at the 2016 U.S Snowboarding Park City Grand Prix on February 6, 2016 in Park City, Utah.  (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Today marks 500 days until the Opening Ceremony of 2018 Winter Olympics.

Below are five U.S. athletes to get to know before February 9, 2018:

Ryan Bailey (Bobsled): Bailey, who finished fifth as a sprinter in the London Olympic 100m, is attempting to compete at the 2018 Olympics as a bobsledder. On Sept. 21, just weeks into his bobsled career, he won the men’s push athlete national title. The last male Summer Olympian to make a U.S. Olympic bobsled team was Willie Davenport in 1980.

MORE: Converted sprinter Ryan Bailey wins bobsled national title

Brittany Bowe and Heather Richardson (Speed Skating): Bowe and Richardson have been trading world records in recent years. Last November, Bowe broke her own women’s 1000m world record, only to have Richardson lower it just three minutes later. A week later, Bowe broke the world record in the event once again.

MORE: Dan Jansen explains recent flurry of world records

Meryl Davis and Charlie White (Figure Skating): The future is uncertain for Davis and White, who became the first U.S. couple to win an Olympic ice dance title in Sochi. They have not competed since the 2014 Olympics, but they have also not announced their retirement.

MORE: Where Meryl Davis, Charlie White stand on possible comeback

Chloe Kim (Snowboarding): Kim mathematically qualified for the 2014 U.S. Olympic team in halfpipe, but at 13, she was not old enough to be eligible to compete in Sochi. A U.S. woman has won gold in the event at three of the past four Olympics, but Kaitlyn Farrington, who won halfpipe gold in Sochi, retired after being diagnosed with a spinal condition.

MORE: Kaitlyn Farrington retires from snowboarding

Mikaela Shiffrin (Alpine Skiing): Shiffrin became the youngest Olympic slalom champion at the 2014 Games, when she was 18. Four years later, she is hoping to become the first Alpine skier — man or woman — to repeat as slalom gold medalist. She also could become the first U.S. women’s Alpine skier to win gold medals in multiple Olympics.