Erika Brown

Complete U.S. Olympic Team pending USOC approval

4 Comments

The U.S. is slated to send the largest number of athletes to a Winter Olympics by any nation ever.

A total of 230 athletes have been nominated to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team.

If they are all approved by the U.S. Olympic Committee, as expected, the U.S. will field the largest athlete delegation for the 13th straight Winter Games.

Host Russia will reportedly have 223 athletes. The last time another country had more athletes than the U.S. at the Winter Olympics was Germany in 1964, according to Olympic historian Bill Mallon.

The youngest athlete nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team was slopestyle skier Maggie Voisin, who was born on Dec. 14, 1998.

Voisin would be the youngest U.S. Winter Olympian since curler Erika Brown in 1988, if you count Brown’s participation in a demonstration sport, which curling was at the time.

If Brown is not counted, Voisin is the youngest since 1972, according to sports-reference.com.

Brown, now 41, was also nominated to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team.

Brown reflects on 1988 Olympics

The five oldest athletes nominated were all curlers — Ann Swisshelm (45), Brown (41), Allison Pottinger (40), Debbie McCormick (40) and Brown’s younger brother, Craig Brown (38).

The oldest non-curler was Nordic combined skier Todd Lodwick, who is 37 and set for a record sixth Winter Olympics by an American as long as his shoulder holds up.

The median age of the 230 athletes is about 26.5 years.

Erika Brown was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 1988 Olympics, again if curling then counts.

Lodwick was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 1994 Olympics.

Erika Brown, McCormick, Lodwick, Nordic combined skier Bill Demong and Alpine skier Bode Miller were the only athletes nominated who competed at the 1998 Olympics.

Bobsledder Lauryn Williams was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 2004 Summer Olympics. Williams and fellow bobsledder Lolo Jones were the only athletes nominated who competed at the 2008 and 2012 Summer Olympics.

Here is the full list of athletes nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team:

Aerials
Mac Bohonnon — @macbohonnon
Ashley Caldwell — @ashleyskis
Emily Cook — @emilycook

Alpine Skiing
David Chodounsky
Erik Fisher — @skifastfish
Travis Ganong — @travisganong
Jared Goldberg — @jared_goldberg
Tim Jitloff — @t_jit
Nolan Kasper — @nolankasper
Ted Ligety — @tedligety
Bode Miller — @millerbode
Steven Nyman — @believeinsteven
Marco Sullivan — @marcosullivan
Andrew Weibrecht — @a_weibrecht
Stacey Cook — @staceycookusa
Julia Ford — @juliawford
Julia Mancuso — @juliamancuso
Megan McJames
Laurenne Ross — @lalalalaurenne
Mikaela Shiffrin — @mikaelashiffrin
Leanne Smith
Resi Stiegler — @resistiegler
Jacqueline Wiles — @skierchick53

Biathlon
Lowell Bailey — @lowellcbailey
Tim Burke — @tb_burke
Russell Currier — @russellcurrier
Sean Doherty
Leif Nordgren — @lcnordgren
Lanny Barnes
Annelies Cook
Hannah Dreissigacker
Susan Dunklee — @susandunklee
Sara Studebaker — @sarastudebaker

Bobsled
Cory Butner — @corybutner
Nick Cunningham — @bobsledr
Chris Fogt — @christopherfogt
Steven Holcomb — @stevenholcomb
Steve Langton — @stevenlangton
Justin Olsen — @justinbolsen
Johnny Quinn — @johnnyquinnusa
Dallas Robinson — @drobusa
Curt Tomasevicz — @ctomasevicz
Aja Evans — @ajalevans
Jazmine Fenlator — @jazminefenlator
Jamie Greubel — @jamiegreubel
Lolo Jones — @lolojones
Elana Meyers — @eamslider24
Lauryn Williams — @lauryncwilliams

Cross-Country Skiing
Erik Bjornsen — @erikbjornsen
Kris Freeman — @teamfreebirdxc
Brian Gregg — @xcskilifebg
Simi Hamilton — @simihamilton
Noah Hoffman
Torin Koos
Andy Newell — @andynewellskier
Sadie Bjornsen — @sadzarue
Holly Brooks — @brooksha1
Sophie Caldwell — @dophed
Jessie Diggins — @jessdiggs
Kikkan Randall — @kikkanimal
Ida Sargent — @idasargent
Liz Stephen — @lizstephen

Curling
Craig Brown
Jeff Isaacson
John Landsteiner — @jlandsteiner
John Shuster — @shoostie2010
Jared Zezel — @jaredzezel04
Erika Brown — @ebrowncurls
Debbie McCormick — @deb_mccormick
Allison Pottinger — @apottinger
Jessica Schultz — @jess_curls
Ann Swisshelm — @curlannie

Figure Skating
Polina Edmunds — @polinaedmunds
Gracie Gold — @graceegold
Ashley Wagner — @ashwagner2010
Jeremy Abbott — @jeremyabbottpcf
Jason Brown — @jasonbskates
Madison Chock — @chockolate02
Evan Bates — @evan_bates
Meryl Davis — @meryl_davis
Charlie White — @charlieawhite
Maia Shibutani — @maiashibutani
Alex Shibutani — @alexshibutani
Marissa Castelli — @marissacastelli
Simon Shnapir — @simonshnapir
Felicia Zhang — @felicia_zhang
Nathan Bartholomay — @natebartholomay

Hockey
David Backes — @dbackes42
Dustin Brown — @dustinbrown23
Ryan Callahan — @ryancallahan24
John Carlson — @johncarlson74
Justin Faulk — @justinfaulk27
Cam Fowler — @c_fowler4
Jimmy Howard
Patrick Kane — @88pkane
Ryan Kesler — @ryan_kesler
Phil Kessel — @pkessel81
Paul Martin
Ryan McDonagh — @rmcdonagh27
Ryan Miller — @ryanmiller3039
Brooks Orpik
T.J. Oshie — @osh74
Max Pacioretty
Zach Parise
Joe Pavelski
Jonathan Quick — @jonathanquick32
Kevin Shattenkirk — @shattdeuces
Paul Stastny — @paulywalnuts26
Derek Stepan — @derekstepan21
Ryan Suter — @rsuter20
James van Riemsdyk — @jvreemer21
Blake Wheeler — @biggiefunke
Kacey Bellamy — @kbells22
Megan Bozek — @meganebozek
Alex Carpenter — @carpy05
Julie Chu — @juliechu13
Kendall Coyne — @kendallcoyne
Brianna Decker — @bdecker1814
Meghan Duggan — @mduggan10
Lyndsey Fry — @fry_x_cycle
Amanda Kessel — @amandakessel8
Hilary Knight — @hilary_knight
Jocelyne Lamoureux — @jocelyneusa17
Monique Lamoureux — @moniquelam7
Gigi Marvin — @gigimarvin
Brianne McLaughlin — @briannemcl
Michelle Picard — @shellfish20
Josephine Pucci — @josephinepucci
Molly Schaus — @schaus729
Anne Schleper — @_aschlep
Kelli Stack — @kstack16
Lee Stecklein — @leesteck2
Jessie Vetter — @vetter31

Luge
Aidan Kelly — @aidankellyusa
Chris Mazdzer — @mazdzer
Tucker West — @tuckerwest1
Summer Britcher — @summerbritcher
Erin Hamlin — @erinhamlin
Kate Hansen — @k8ertotz
Preston Griffall — @prestongriffall
Matt Mortensen — @mattmortensen_
Christian Niccum
Jayson Terdiman — @jterdimanusa

Moguls
Patrick Deneen — @patrick_deneen
Brad Wilson — @wilsfreestyle
Hannah Kearney — @hk_ski
Heidi Kloser — @heidikloser
Heather McPhie — @heathermcphie
Eliza Outtrim

Nordic Combined
Bill Demong — @billydemong
Bryan Fletcher — @skifletch
Taylor Fletcher — @tfletchernordic
Todd Lodwick

Short Track Speed Skating
Eddy Alvarez — @eddyalvarez90
Kyle Carr — @ckylecarr
J.R. Celski — @jrcelski
Chris Creveling — @tophcrev
Jordan Malone — @j2k111
Alyson Dudek — @alydudek
Emily Scott — @emscott89
Jessica Smith — @thejessicasmith

Skeleton
Matt Antoine — @mattantoine
John Daly — @johndalyusa
Kyle Tress — @kyletress
Noelle Pikus-Pace — @noellepikuspace
Katie Uhlaender — @katieu11

Ski Cross
John Teller — @john_teller

Ski Halfpipe
Aaron Blunck — @aaron_blunck
Lyman Currier — @urmotherlovesme
Torin Yater-Wallace — @torinwallace
David Wise — @mrdavidwise
Maddie Bowman — @maddiebowman
Annalisa Drew — @anna_drew_
Brita Sigourney — @britasig
Angeli VanLaanen — @angeli_v

Ski Jumping
Nick Alexander — @skiflyzander
Nick Fairall — @nick_fairall
Peter Frenette — @pfskijumping
Anders Johnson — @flyingaj
Sarah Hendrickson — @schendrickson
Jessica Jerome — @jessicajerome
Lindsey Van — @lindseyvan

Ski Slopestyle
Bobby Brown — @bobby_brown1
Joss Christensen — @josschristensen
Nick Goepper — @nickgoepper
Gus Kenworthy — @guskenworthy
Keri Herman — @keriherman
Julia Krass — @juliakrass15
Devin Logan — @dlogan
Maggie Voisin — @skimagg123

Snowboard Alpine
Justin Reiter — @justin_reiter

Snowboard Cross
Nick Baumgartner — @nickbaumgartner
Alex Deibold — @adeibold
Nate Holland — @n8holland
Trevor Jacob — @trevorjacob93
Faye Gulini — @fayegulini
Jackie Hernandez — @jackiepatty_
Lindsey Jacobellis — @lindsjacobellis

Snowboard Halfpipe
Greg Bretz — @gregbretzz
Danny Davis — @theddeadshow
Taylor Gold — @taylor_gold
Shaun White — @shaun_white
Kelly Clark — @kellyclarkfdn
Kaitlyn Farrington — @kaitlynfarr
Arielle Gold — @arielletgold
Hannah Teter — @hannahteter

Snowboard Slopestyle
Chas Guldemond — @chasguldemond
Sage Kotsenburg — @sagekotsenburg
Ryan Stassel
Shaun White — @shaun_white
Jamie Anderson — @jme_anderson
Jessika Jenson
Karly Shorr — @karlyshorr
Ty Walker — @ty_walker_

Speed Skating
Shani Davis — @shanidavis
Tucker Fredricks — @tuckerfredricks
Jonathan Garcia — @jagarcia23
Brian Hansen — @brianthansen
Jonathan Kuck — @jdkuck
Emery Lehman — @mry_the_eman
Joey Mantia — @jrmantia
Patrick Meek — @patjmeek
Mitch Whitmore — @whitmoreusa
Brittany Bowe — @brittanybowe
Lauren Cholewinski — @lmcholewinski
Kelly Gunther — @kellyagunther
Maria Lamb — @mariatlamb
Heather Richardson — @hlynnrichardson
Anna Ringsred — @annaringsred
Jilleanne Rookard — @jmrookard
Sugar Todd — @sugarmotion

Watch Simone Biles samba to Destiny’s Child on ‘Dancing with the Stars’

Leave a comment

Simone Biles easily advanced to the final seven on “Dancing with the Stars,” while Nancy Kerrigan was the last contestant to survive elimination Monday night.

Biles, a four-time Rio Olympic gymnastics gold medalist, danced a samba to Destiny’s Child’s “Survivor” with partner Sasha Farber.

They received 35 points out of a possible 40 — with no 10s after Biles received her first 10s the previous week. It was the fourth-best score of eight couples Monday.

Judges felt their timing was off.

Kerrigan, a two-time Olympic figure skating medalist, performed with Artem Chigvintsev to En Vogue’s “Free Your Mind.”

They scored 33 points, lowest of the four women’s contestants remaining, with judges telling Kerrigan she looked unstable and tense at times. Kerrigan has been dealing with back pain and arm weakness.

“We had a lunch break, and we had sushi, and she couldn’t lift the soy sauce,” Chigvintsev said on ABC News.

The elimination came down to Kerrigan and “Glee” actress Heather Morris. Morris was cut, via a combination judges scores and fan votes, despite recording the first perfect score of the season Monday night.

The announcement drew boos from the studio crowd.

Kerrigan and Biles are looking to become the sixth Olympian to win the Mirrorball Trophy in the series’ 24 seasons, joining Kristi YamaguchiApolo OhnoShawn JohnsonMeryl Davis and Laurie Hernandez.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Biles leads Olympians in Time 100

London Marathon runners reflect on viral finish-line moment

Getty Images
1 Comment

A collapsing London Marathon runner who was helped to the finish line and the fellow runner who held him up recounted their inspiring two minutes.

Matthew Rees was rounding the final corner, signifying 200 meters left of the 26.2-mile race, when he saw David Wyeth struggling to stay on his feet on Sunday.

“My mind was like, I need to help this guy,” Rees said on the BBC. “He needs to get to the finish. You’ve come 26 miles, and the finish was just there. For me, it was important to get him to the end and cross together.”

Wyeth said he told Rees to go on without him. Rees declined. Wyeth said, “I’ve got to finish,” and Rees told him, “You will,” according to the Press Association.

“I can’t say how grateful I am to Matthew because you say that, Matthew, that others would have stopped,” Wyeth said on the BBC. “And I’m sure you’re right, that there may have been others, but you persisted.”

Rees held up Wyeth as it took them nearly two minutes to trudge to the finish line. Another person, appearing to be a race volunteer or official, also came over to help.

“It was great if I’ve inspired anyone, but I do think that anyone would’ve done the same thing,” Rees said on the BBC. “If it wasn’t me, it would have been the next runner. It’s just being a human, isn’t it? Seeing someone who’s struggling and helping them out.”

The pair crossed the finish at The Mall together, but with different times as they didn’t start together. Rees’ official time was 2 hours, 52 minutes, 26 seconds. Wyeth clocked 2:51:08.

“The time means absolutely nothing to me,” Wyeth said, according to the Press Association. “I feel a slight fraud for having a [finisher’s] medal around my neck. I should cut a little piece out because it belongs to Matthew.

“I really wouldn’t have got across the line — on my hands and knees, maybe, but the time meant nothing in the end because I know I wouldn’t have got there without Matthew putting his arm around me and carrying me over the line.”

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Another Russian medal from 2008 Olympics stripped