Erika Brown

Complete U.S. Olympic Team pending USOC approval

4 Comments

The U.S. is slated to send the largest number of athletes to a Winter Olympics by any nation ever.

A total of 230 athletes have been nominated to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team.

If they are all approved by the U.S. Olympic Committee, as expected, the U.S. will field the largest athlete delegation for the 13th straight Winter Games.

Host Russia will reportedly have 223 athletes. The last time another country had more athletes than the U.S. at the Winter Olympics was Germany in 1964, according to Olympic historian Bill Mallon.

The youngest athlete nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team was slopestyle skier Maggie Voisin, who was born on Dec. 14, 1998.

Voisin would be the youngest U.S. Winter Olympian since curler Erika Brown in 1988, if you count Brown’s participation in a demonstration sport, which curling was at the time.

If Brown is not counted, Voisin is the youngest since 1972, according to sports-reference.com.

Brown, now 41, was also nominated to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team.

Brown reflects on 1988 Olympics

The five oldest athletes nominated were all curlers — Ann Swisshelm (45), Brown (41), Allison Pottinger (40), Debbie McCormick (40) and Brown’s younger brother, Craig Brown (38).

The oldest non-curler was Nordic combined skier Todd Lodwick, who is 37 and set for a record sixth Winter Olympics by an American as long as his shoulder holds up.

The median age of the 230 athletes is about 26.5 years.

Erika Brown was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 1988 Olympics, again if curling then counts.

Lodwick was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 1994 Olympics.

Erika Brown, McCormick, Lodwick, Nordic combined skier Bill Demong and Alpine skier Bode Miller were the only athletes nominated who competed at the 1998 Olympics.

Bobsledder Lauryn Williams was the only athlete nominated who competed at the 2004 Summer Olympics. Williams and fellow bobsledder Lolo Jones were the only athletes nominated who competed at the 2008 and 2012 Summer Olympics.

Here is the full list of athletes nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team:

Aerials
Mac Bohonnon — @macbohonnon
Ashley Caldwell — @ashleyskis
Emily Cook — @emilycook

Alpine Skiing
David Chodounsky
Erik Fisher — @skifastfish
Travis Ganong — @travisganong
Jared Goldberg — @jared_goldberg
Tim Jitloff — @t_jit
Nolan Kasper — @nolankasper
Ted Ligety — @tedligety
Bode Miller — @millerbode
Steven Nyman — @believeinsteven
Marco Sullivan — @marcosullivan
Andrew Weibrecht — @a_weibrecht
Stacey Cook — @staceycookusa
Julia Ford — @juliawford
Julia Mancuso — @juliamancuso
Megan McJames
Laurenne Ross — @lalalalaurenne
Mikaela Shiffrin — @mikaelashiffrin
Leanne Smith
Resi Stiegler — @resistiegler
Jacqueline Wiles — @skierchick53

Biathlon
Lowell Bailey — @lowellcbailey
Tim Burke — @tb_burke
Russell Currier — @russellcurrier
Sean Doherty
Leif Nordgren — @lcnordgren
Lanny Barnes
Annelies Cook
Hannah Dreissigacker
Susan Dunklee — @susandunklee
Sara Studebaker — @sarastudebaker

Bobsled
Cory Butner — @corybutner
Nick Cunningham — @bobsledr
Chris Fogt — @christopherfogt
Steven Holcomb — @stevenholcomb
Steve Langton — @stevenlangton
Justin Olsen — @justinbolsen
Johnny Quinn — @johnnyquinnusa
Dallas Robinson — @drobusa
Curt Tomasevicz — @ctomasevicz
Aja Evans — @ajalevans
Jazmine Fenlator — @jazminefenlator
Jamie Greubel — @jamiegreubel
Lolo Jones — @lolojones
Elana Meyers — @eamslider24
Lauryn Williams — @lauryncwilliams

Cross-Country Skiing
Erik Bjornsen — @erikbjornsen
Kris Freeman — @teamfreebirdxc
Brian Gregg — @xcskilifebg
Simi Hamilton — @simihamilton
Noah Hoffman
Torin Koos
Andy Newell — @andynewellskier
Sadie Bjornsen — @sadzarue
Holly Brooks — @brooksha1
Sophie Caldwell — @dophed
Jessie Diggins — @jessdiggs
Kikkan Randall — @kikkanimal
Ida Sargent — @idasargent
Liz Stephen — @lizstephen

Curling
Craig Brown
Jeff Isaacson
John Landsteiner — @jlandsteiner
John Shuster — @shoostie2010
Jared Zezel — @jaredzezel04
Erika Brown — @ebrowncurls
Debbie McCormick — @deb_mccormick
Allison Pottinger — @apottinger
Jessica Schultz — @jess_curls
Ann Swisshelm — @curlannie

Figure Skating
Polina Edmunds — @polinaedmunds
Gracie Gold — @graceegold
Ashley Wagner — @ashwagner2010
Jeremy Abbott — @jeremyabbottpcf
Jason Brown — @jasonbskates
Madison Chock — @chockolate02
Evan Bates — @evan_bates
Meryl Davis — @meryl_davis
Charlie White — @charlieawhite
Maia Shibutani — @maiashibutani
Alex Shibutani — @alexshibutani
Marissa Castelli — @marissacastelli
Simon Shnapir — @simonshnapir
Felicia Zhang — @felicia_zhang
Nathan Bartholomay — @natebartholomay

Hockey
David Backes — @dbackes42
Dustin Brown — @dustinbrown23
Ryan Callahan — @ryancallahan24
John Carlson — @johncarlson74
Justin Faulk — @justinfaulk27
Cam Fowler — @c_fowler4
Jimmy Howard
Patrick Kane — @88pkane
Ryan Kesler — @ryan_kesler
Phil Kessel — @pkessel81
Paul Martin
Ryan McDonagh — @rmcdonagh27
Ryan Miller — @ryanmiller3039
Brooks Orpik
T.J. Oshie — @osh74
Max Pacioretty
Zach Parise
Joe Pavelski
Jonathan Quick — @jonathanquick32
Kevin Shattenkirk — @shattdeuces
Paul Stastny — @paulywalnuts26
Derek Stepan — @derekstepan21
Ryan Suter — @rsuter20
James van Riemsdyk — @jvreemer21
Blake Wheeler — @biggiefunke
Kacey Bellamy — @kbells22
Megan Bozek — @meganebozek
Alex Carpenter — @carpy05
Julie Chu — @juliechu13
Kendall Coyne — @kendallcoyne
Brianna Decker — @bdecker1814
Meghan Duggan — @mduggan10
Lyndsey Fry — @fry_x_cycle
Amanda Kessel — @amandakessel8
Hilary Knight — @hilary_knight
Jocelyne Lamoureux — @jocelyneusa17
Monique Lamoureux — @moniquelam7
Gigi Marvin — @gigimarvin
Brianne McLaughlin — @briannemcl
Michelle Picard — @shellfish20
Josephine Pucci — @josephinepucci
Molly Schaus — @schaus729
Anne Schleper — @_aschlep
Kelli Stack — @kstack16
Lee Stecklein — @leesteck2
Jessie Vetter — @vetter31

Luge
Aidan Kelly — @aidankellyusa
Chris Mazdzer — @mazdzer
Tucker West — @tuckerwest1
Summer Britcher — @summerbritcher
Erin Hamlin — @erinhamlin
Kate Hansen — @k8ertotz
Preston Griffall — @prestongriffall
Matt Mortensen — @mattmortensen_
Christian Niccum
Jayson Terdiman — @jterdimanusa

Moguls
Patrick Deneen — @patrick_deneen
Brad Wilson — @wilsfreestyle
Hannah Kearney — @hk_ski
Heidi Kloser — @heidikloser
Heather McPhie — @heathermcphie
Eliza Outtrim

Nordic Combined
Bill Demong — @billydemong
Bryan Fletcher — @skifletch
Taylor Fletcher — @tfletchernordic
Todd Lodwick

Short Track Speed Skating
Eddy Alvarez — @eddyalvarez90
Kyle Carr — @ckylecarr
J.R. Celski — @jrcelski
Chris Creveling — @tophcrev
Jordan Malone — @j2k111
Alyson Dudek — @alydudek
Emily Scott — @emscott89
Jessica Smith — @thejessicasmith

Skeleton
Matt Antoine — @mattantoine
John Daly — @johndalyusa
Kyle Tress — @kyletress
Noelle Pikus-Pace — @noellepikuspace
Katie Uhlaender — @katieu11

Ski Cross
John Teller — @john_teller

Ski Halfpipe
Aaron Blunck — @aaron_blunck
Lyman Currier — @urmotherlovesme
Torin Yater-Wallace — @torinwallace
David Wise — @mrdavidwise
Maddie Bowman — @maddiebowman
Annalisa Drew — @anna_drew_
Brita Sigourney — @britasig
Angeli VanLaanen — @angeli_v

Ski Jumping
Nick Alexander — @skiflyzander
Nick Fairall — @nick_fairall
Peter Frenette — @pfskijumping
Anders Johnson — @flyingaj
Sarah Hendrickson — @schendrickson
Jessica Jerome — @jessicajerome
Lindsey Van — @lindseyvan

Ski Slopestyle
Bobby Brown — @bobby_brown1
Joss Christensen — @josschristensen
Nick Goepper — @nickgoepper
Gus Kenworthy — @guskenworthy
Keri Herman — @keriherman
Julia Krass — @juliakrass15
Devin Logan — @dlogan
Maggie Voisin — @skimagg123

Snowboard Alpine
Justin Reiter — @justin_reiter

Snowboard Cross
Nick Baumgartner — @nickbaumgartner
Alex Deibold — @adeibold
Nate Holland — @n8holland
Trevor Jacob — @trevorjacob93
Faye Gulini — @fayegulini
Jackie Hernandez — @jackiepatty_
Lindsey Jacobellis — @lindsjacobellis

Snowboard Halfpipe
Greg Bretz — @gregbretzz
Danny Davis — @theddeadshow
Taylor Gold — @taylor_gold
Shaun White — @shaun_white
Kelly Clark — @kellyclarkfdn
Kaitlyn Farrington — @kaitlynfarr
Arielle Gold — @arielletgold
Hannah Teter — @hannahteter

Snowboard Slopestyle
Chas Guldemond — @chasguldemond
Sage Kotsenburg — @sagekotsenburg
Ryan Stassel
Shaun White — @shaun_white
Jamie Anderson — @jme_anderson
Jessika Jenson
Karly Shorr — @karlyshorr
Ty Walker — @ty_walker_

Speed Skating
Shani Davis — @shanidavis
Tucker Fredricks — @tuckerfredricks
Jonathan Garcia — @jagarcia23
Brian Hansen — @brianthansen
Jonathan Kuck — @jdkuck
Emery Lehman — @mry_the_eman
Joey Mantia — @jrmantia
Patrick Meek — @patjmeek
Mitch Whitmore — @whitmoreusa
Brittany Bowe — @brittanybowe
Lauren Cholewinski — @lmcholewinski
Kelly Gunther — @kellyagunther
Maria Lamb — @mariatlamb
Heather Richardson — @hlynnrichardson
Anna Ringsred — @annaringsred
Jilleanne Rookard — @jmrookard
Sugar Todd — @sugarmotion

U.S. sprinters past, present trade relay barbs

Justin Gatlin
Getty Images
3 Comments

PHILADELPHIA (AP) — The only loss for the Americans at the Penn Relays came in the men’s 4x100m, as the U.S. team bobbled its victory away on a bad baton handoff between Tyson Gay and Isiah Young for the final leg, which led to a disqualification.

Mike Rodgers and Justin Gatlin gave the Americans an early lead in the race, and things were moving along well during Gay’s third leg. But the muffed handoff for the final leg cost the Americans. Both the winning Jamaican squad and the second American team surpassed them.

Young finished third, but the team was disqualified because the handoff occurred outside the pass zone. The second U.S. team of Sean McLean, Wallace Spearman, Calesio Newman and Remontay McLain finished in 39.02.

The mistake led to some inflammatory comments from U.S. great Leroy Burrell about continued problems with handoffs by U.S. relay teams.

“Well, I think we’ve got to put our team together a little earlier, possibly,” Burrell said in a television interview. “I think, we’ve had the same coaches working with these guys for many years, and we’ve had failure after failure. So it’s possible that, you know, it might be time for a bit of a regime change with the leadership.

“I think the athletes have to be the catalysts that make that happen. There’s no reason why we shouldn’t be able to get the stick around. I saw thousands of relay teams yesterday — maybe not thousands, but hundreds of relay teams get it around. But the professionals can’t. That’s just not good for our sport.”

Rodgers didn’t take kindly to those remarks.

“People keep pointing their fingers and downing us, but nobody has ever tried to come out there and help us,” he said. “Nobody from the past. Not Carl [Lewis] or Leroy. They haven’t been out there. I can’t really respect their opinions because they’re supposed to be leaders in our sport and in the USA, and they’re not coming out there to drop some knowledge on us, so I don’t care what they have to say.”

Lewis criticized U.S. relays in March.

Gatlin was equally critical of Burrell.

“I’m tired of people who have been part of Team USA take shots at Team USA,” Gatlin said. “To put us in the same boat as high schoolers is insulting.”

VIDEO: Race against Usain Bolt’s world record with ‘BeatBot’

Bob Costas’ report 100 days out from Rio (video)

Bob Costas
NBC News
Leave a comment

Bob Costas reported from Rio de Janeiro for NBC News on Wednesday, 100 days out from the Opening Ceremony.

In the clip below, Michael PhelpsSimone Biles and even Brazil soccer legend Pelé comment on preparing for the first Games in South America.

Costas finished the clip with a stand-up from Copacabana Beach, where beach volleyball will take place in August.

VIDEO: Bob Costas picks biggest storyline of Rio Olympics