Getty Images

Winter Olympics: What to watch/stream

Leave a comment

Snowboarding highlights the events in PyeongChang tonight, as Chloe Kim and Shaun White feature on NBC’s live primetime coverage.

Kim sent a resounding message to the rest of the pack in the women’s snowboard slopestyle. The 17-year-old, who qualified for Sochi but couldn’t compete because she was just 13, backed up a first qualification run of 91.50 with an even more impressive score of 95.50. She entered the competition as the odds-on favorite to win, and she’s duly delivered so far. The Korean-American will be going for gold in the final on NBC primetime, 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST.

Snowboarding

You’d have to dig pretty deep into the barrel before you ran out of superlatives to talk about Chloe Kim. The 17-year-old has looked nothing short of spectacular, and was the only athlete to hit above 90 in the qualification runs. Maddie Mastro, who finished third in qualification, will be one of a few Americans hoping to join Kim on the podium.

Action doesn’t let up when the women’s halfpipe concludes, though. The men’s halfpipe qualification begins, starring Shaun White. The “Flying Tomato” hasn’t forgotten his Sochi woes, and is set to redeem himself here in PyeongChang.

NBCOlympics.com: Olympics preview: Men’s snowboard halfpipe

Women’s Halfpipe Finals Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST

Men’s Halfpipe Qualification Stream Live Here 11:00p.m. EST / 8:00p.m. PST

Alpine Skiing

Austria’s Marcel Hauscher is the favorite to win gold in the combined. The Austrian has won six World Cup titles so far. Alexis Pintauralt and  Victor Muffat-Jeandet of France will be the Austrian’s two biggest challengers. Ted Ligety, who became the first American to win Olympic gold in the event in 2006, will be leading Team USA’s contingent.

Men’s Combined Stream Live Here 9:30p.m. EST / 6:30p.m. PST

Curling

Following their loss to Switzerland, the Olympic Athletes from Russia find themselves fighting for bronze versus Norway. Team OAR lost a close one, having put up some big numbers in their 5-7 loss.

Bronze Medal Match, NOR vs. OAR Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m. PST

Figure Skating

Liam McHugh is joined by Tanith White and Scott Hamilton as they preview the pairs competition.

Stream Live Here 7:00p.m. EST / 4:00p.m. PST.

 

USA wins gold in men’s curling

AP Images
1 Comment

For the first time in history, the United States won the Olympic gold medal in curling.

A week ago, it didn’t seem like that would happen. Sitting at 2-4 and with a game against behemoth Canada coming up, John Shuster captained the United States to three consecutive wins (over Canada, Switzerland, and Great Britain) to squeak into the semifinals. From there, they took down Great Britain before completing the run against Sweden in the gold medal game.

Tied at 5-5 in the eighth end, Shuster was able to hit both of Sweden’s rocks out of the house, giving the United States an incredible five points and a 10-5 lead heading into the ninth.

NBCOlympics.com: Watch: Team USA scores five points in eighth end

After that, it was all about protecting the lead. Just a few minutes later Swedish skip Niklas Edin conceded the game, and it was the United States standing on top of the podium for the first time ever in the sport of curling.

Click here to read the full recap from the gold medal game 

Ester Ledecka first woman to win gold in two sports at same Winter Olympics

Getty Images
Leave a comment

One week after shocking the world by winning a gold medal in Alpine skiing, Ester Ledecka of the Czech Republic strapped back into a snowboard and won a gold medal in her primary sport.

Ledecka, the No. 1 ranked athlete in women’s parallel giant slalom snowboarding, qualified for the finals of that event with the fastest time, then won four consecutive head-to-head races to claim her second gold medal of the PyeongChang Olympics.

With the win, Ledecka is the first woman to win gold medals in two different sports at the same Winter Olympics.

Results: Women’s Parallel Giant Slalom

Gold: Ester Ledecka (CZE)
Silver: Selina Joerg (GER)
Bronze: Ramona Hofmeister (GER)
4. Alena Zavarzina (OAR)
5. Benjamin Karl (AUT)
6. Stefan Baumeister (GER)
7. Roland Fischnaller (ITA)
8. Edwin Coratti (ITA)

Click here to catch up on all of the snowboarding action from PyeongChang