Getty Images

Winter Olympics: What to watch/stream

Leave a comment

Nathan Chen is back in action tonight, as the men’s figure skating short program features on NBC’s prime time coverage. The American, who stumbled in his team skate routine in his first appearance, is keen to turn his fortunes around. The day after his fall, Chen took to the practice rink again to practice his routine. 

Chen isn’t the only one looking for redemption. The U.S. men held a 2-0 lead over Slovenia in their hockey opener, only to fall in over time. After dominating for the first 40 minutes, the Americans were bullied around by a team they should have handily beaten. They next play against another surprise winner in Slovakia, who upset OAR the same day.

Mikaela Shiffrin also returns to action tonight in the women’s slalom, the day after winning gold in the giant slalom. 

Figure Skating

Big names highlight the men’s short program: Nathan Chen, Adam Rippon, and Vincent Zhou will all be representing Team USA in a stacked field. We’ll get our first look at Zhou tonight, the youngest member representing Team USA.

For a full in-depth preview of the men’s short program, click here

Men’s Short Program Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST

Alpine Skiing

This could be a big Olympic Games for Shiffrin. The American was spectacular in the giant slalom yesterday, and won gold in this event in Sochi. Look out for her to be one of the few multiple winning gold medalists this year.

Women’s Slalom Run 1 Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST

Women’s Slalom Run 2 Stream Live Here 11:15p.m. EST / 8:15p.m. PST

Men’s Super-G Stream Live Here 9:00p.m. EST / 6:00p.m. PST

Snowboard

After watching the men compete, it’s tine for Lindsey Jacobellis to begin her quest for Olympic glory. The four-time Olympian has won the most boardercross medals; however, none of them gold. If she is to erase all of her misfortune and heartache from Olympics past, then she’ll have to beat reigning champion Eva Samkova.

Full preview of women’s boardercross here

Women’s Boardercross Qualifying Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST

Women’s BoardercrossCross Heats Stream Live Here 10:15p.m. EST / 7:15p.m. PST

Skeleton

Yun Sung-Bin has taken the skeleton field by storm in his first two tuns, putting himself in great shape to become South Korea’s first-ever medalist (and probably gold medalist) in a sliding sport. Though Team USA’s Matt Antoine and John Daly are essentially eliminated from medal contention, plenty of intrigue surrounds the track as Yun will make his final two runs.

Men’s Runs 3-4 Stream Live Here 7:30p.m. EST / 4:30p.m. PST

Curling

The U.S. men’s curling woes continued on Wednesday evening, falling to Italy. Things don’t get any easier for them as they take on medal contenders Sweden.

NOR vs. KOR Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m. PST

ITA vs. DEN Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m. PST

USA vs. SWE Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m. PST

Exhibition gala closes out figure skating program in PyeongChang

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Without the pressure of racking up points to land on the medal podium, the figure skating exhibition gala is a chance for the athletes to express themselves. There aren’t rules about jumping sequences, and instead, skaters can use props and silly concepts, if they want.

Figure skaters who win medals at the Olympics are typically among the invite list, plus up-and-coming skaters from the host country and other fan favorites.

Here are some of the best performances of the evening:

Ice dance bronze medalists Maia and Alex Shibutani reprised last season’s “That’s Life” short dance by Frank Sinatra featuring Jay-Z for this year’s exhibition.

Ladies’ gold medalist Alina Zagitova performed her “Priestess of Fire” exhibition, which included a fake candle prop glowing on the ice.

Watch performances from the figure skating gala by clicking here 

Double gold: Germany’s Friedrich wins 4-man bobsled

AP Images
Leave a comment

Two-man? Check. Four-man? Double check. Francesco Friedrich piloted his German sled to gold in the four-man bobsled, becoming the sixth pilot to win gold in both the two- and four-man bobsled in the same Olympics on the final day of competition in PyeongChang.

After tying with Canada’s Justin Kripps in two-man, Friedrich made no doubt in four-man, sliding to a dominant win. The German sled was clear of second by 0.53 seconds. And in second? Another tie on the bobsled course — just like the tie for gold in two-man. South Korea and Germany shared the silver medal.

NBCOlympics.com: Remembering team USA bobsled star Steve Holcomb

South Korea’s medal was historic. Won Yun-Jong delivered for the home nation, bringing the country its first medal in the bobsled. Yun Sung-Bin won the country’s first medal in a sliding event by taking gold in skeleton earlier in the games. Germany’s Nico Walther piloted the sled that tied.

Codie Bascue piloted the top American sled to a ninth-place finish. Nick Cunningham and Justin Olsen improved in Runs 3 and 4 to finish 19th and 20th, respectively.

Results: 

Gold: Germany (Friedrich sled)
Silver: South Korea (Won sled)
Silver: Germany (Walther sled)

Read the full recap and watch bobsled highlights by clicking here