Getty Images

Winter Olympics: What to watch/stream

Leave a comment

If there was ever a time to put a rain check on your evening plans, tonight could should very well be that night.

An absolutely jam-packed schedule is slated for this evening, with Team USA hockey, Lindsey Vonn, Mirai Nagasu, and Bradie Trennell all back in action.

The ladies’ figure skating and women’s downhill kicks off this triple-header in NBC prime time, leading into Lindsey Vonn as she attempts to reclaim the gold. The U.S. men’s hockey team wraps things up at 10:10p.m. EST when they take on the Czech Republic in the quartfinals.

Vonn is seeking to become the oldest woman to win the downhill. She’s caused a lot of noise the past couple days with her admissions of playing ‘mind games’ with her competitors during training, but they all know that the only time that counts is the one that clinches the medal.

Nagasu and Trennell are also back in action a week after they helped land Team USA the bronze in the team event. Karen Chen, at 18 years of age, will also be making her Olympic debut.

So pick up your phone, make your excuses to not go out to supper, and watch the best evening of sports that the Olympics have offered this year.

Alpine Skiing

With Shiffrin not competing in the downhill, all eyes will be turned to Vonn as the 2010 Olympic champion looks to reclaim the gold medal that she wasn’t able to defend in Sochi. Vonn’s all-or-nothing attitude certainly indicates that there will be some risks taken on the course. If she can keep a clean run all the way through, then she’ll likely be standing on the top of the podium again.

Women’s Downhill Stream Live Here 9:00p.m. EST /6:00p.m. PST


The U.S. men crushed Slovenia 5-1 in their qualification playoff last evening. Thanks to three power play goals in a five-on-three situation, the States were able to comfortably advance to the quarterfinals. An easy win is a good thing for this team as they have to quickly turn things around against Czech Republic.

The Czechs are going to be tough competition, not dropping a game in PyeongChang. They defeated the Canadians in the preliminary stages, but they did show a sign of weakness against the Koreans after falling 0-1 early. It’ll be critical for the U.S. to get off to an aggressive start and take the game to the Czechs early to get that early lead.

USA vs. CZE Stream Live Here 10:10p.m. EST / 7:10p.m. PST

Figure Skating

It’s a stacked field in the ladies’ singles competition, with OAR, Canada, and the USA bringing in world class skaters. The ladies from OAR are expected to be the two fighting for gold, though. Yevgenia Medvedeva and Alina Zagitova. Medvedeva is a two-time World Champion, while Zagitova won the 2018 European Championships.

Click here for a full preview of the ladies’ singles program

Ladies Short Program Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST

Olympic Ice Preview Stream Live Here 7:00p.m. EST / 4:00p.m. PST


Some familiar faces from the slopestyle return for the big air. Mark McMorris and Max Parrot of Canada will both be penciled in as favorites, as will Marcus Kleveland of Norway. Parrot is the likeliest to introduce some new variations to the competition, which could prove the difference when separating himself from his countryman.

Click here for a full preview of the big air competition

Men’s Big Air Qualifying Stream Live Here 7:30p.m. EST / 4:30p.m. PST

Freestyle Skiing

Beginning at 9:30pm. EST and leading into the early hours of Wednesday, ski cross could provide some similar storylines to snowboard cross. Using the same course, athletes compete in heats from Point A to Point B.

The French swept the podium in 2014. Paul Eckert of Germany won the most recent tournament in the build-up to PyeongChang.

Men’s Ski Cross Seeding Stream Live Here 9:30p.m. EST / 6:30p.m. PST

Men’s Ski Cross Elimination Rounds Live Here 11:15p.m. EST / 8:15p.m. PST


The American men continue their fight for survival, taking on Switzerland. It’s simple: if they lose, they’re out. They still need a lot of help even with a win today, but Switzerland are a tough opponent. The U.S. did take down Canada earlier, and could definitely use that as a springboard for the latter stages of their campaign.

Canada and Great Britain are also scheduled for an important game in the women’s tournament. They’re in a four way tussle for that final spot in the semifinals and the loser will likely find themselves outside of that position.

Men’s Tournament

USA vs. SUI Stream Live Here 5:00p.m. EST / 2:00p.m. PST

Women’s Tournament

SWE vs. CHN Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m. PST

CAN vs. GBR Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m. PST

SUI vs. DEN Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m. PST

Alina Zagitova eyes more gold at worlds; women’s preview

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Alina Zagitova hasn’t lost internationally in 18 months, and that doesn’t figure to change this week at the world championships in Milan.

The 15-year-old Russian is favored to become the youngest world gold medalist since Tara Lipinski (duplicating her feat from the Olympics) and make it five straight Olympic or world titles for Russian women, the longest streak for one country since American Carol Heiss won six straight Olympic/world titles from 1956 through 1960.

Zagitova would also become the first Olympic women’s champion to win worlds the following month since Kristi Yamaguchi in 1992. That’s largely because Olympic champions usually skip worlds in Olympic years. Since Yamaguchi, the only one to compete was Yuna Kim, who grabbed silver in 2010.

Zagitova may be young, but she may not have the longevity of Kim to make it to a second Olympics. Russia turns over a new class of elite women’s skaters every year.

Two weeks ago, 13-year-old Alexandra Trusova won the world junior title as the first woman to land two different quadruple jumps in one program. Trusova isn’t old enough to compete at the senior worlds until 2020.

Zagitova’s current rival and training partner, Olympic silver medalist and 2016 and 2017 World champion Yevgenia Medvedeva, withdrew from worlds due to injury.

WORLDS: TV Schedule | Pairs Preview | Nagasu’s Outlook

Which leaves the last two Olympic bronze medalists, Kaetlyn Osmond of Canada and Carolina Kostner of Italy, plus PyeongChang fourth-place finisher Satoko Miyahara of Japan as the top challengers this week.

None finished within seven points of Zagitova at any competition this season, the Russian’s first on the senior international level.

Zagitova set herself apart at the Olympics by putting all of her jumps in the second half of her programs for 10 percent bonuses and landing them all with positive grades of execution.

The U.S. contingent includes national champion Bradie Tennell, two-time Olympian Mirai Nagasu and Mariah Bell (replacement for 2017 U.S. champion Karen Chen).

It is the end of a challenging season for U.S. women. In the autumn, none qualified for the Grand Prix Final for a second straight year (after at least one had done so each of the previous seven seasons).

In PyeongChang, no U.S. woman finished in the top six for the first time in Winter Games history. Tennell, who emerged this season after placing ninth at 2017 Nationals, was the top U.S. Olympic finisher in ninth.

Tennell goes into worlds as the top seeded American — seventh — by best international scores this season.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Best figure skating moments from PyeongChang

Olympic golf qualifying, format largely unchanged for 2020

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic golf tournaments qualifying and format will remain largely the same as they were for the sport’s return to the Games in 2016, according to Golf Channel, citing a memo sent to PGA Tour players.

The format will again be four rounds of stroke play with 60 men and 60 women taken from the world rankings, according to the report.

The qualifying window to determine the rankings will be July 1, 2018 to June 22, 2020 for men and July 8, 2018 to June 29, 2020 for women. That’s a slight change, as for 2016 the dates were the same for men and women.

The 2016 process saw a maximum of two men and two women per country, or up to four if they were ranked in the top 15.

Then-PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem said one month after the Rio Games that he hoped the Olympic golf format would be changed to have more medals awarded.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Michael Phelps lost money to Barack Obama in golf, actor says