Getty Images

Winter Olympics: What to watch/stream

Leave a comment

The gold medal is at stake tonight in the women’s hockey tournament, as the USA will looking to end years of misery at the hands of Canada.

In NBC’s primetime coverage, Lindsey Vonn and Mikaela Shiffrin seek to add to their Olympic medal collection in the womens’ combined. Shiffrin, who pulled out of two events coming into tonight, will be trying to get over the nerves that plagued her in the slalom last week.


The fight for gold is on tonight as the U.S. women try to end their Olympic losing skid against three-time defending champions Canada. Both teams have been on an absolute tear throughout this whole tournament. Canada and the USA both won their respective semifinals by 5-0 scorelines.

It wasn’t any surprise that the highest quality, and most physical, game during the women’s tournament was Canada and USA’s first game. Tonight, with a gold medal on the line, this game should top that.

Gold Medal Game: USA vs. CAN Stream Live Her11:10p.m. EST / 8:10p.m. PST

Alpine Skiing

Lindsey Vonn and Mikaela Shiffrin are going back to the slopes tonight in the women’s combined, though it isn’t clear which of the two is coming in with greater momentum.

Shiffrin won the gold medal in the giant slalom, but since then placed outside of podium contention in the slalom and dropped out of two other races. Vonn missed the podium in the slalom as well, but just picked up a bronze medal in the downhill.

Women’s Combined Run 1 Stream Live Here 9:00p.m. EST / 6:00p.m. PST

Men’s Slalom Run 1 Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST

Men’s Slalom Run 2 Stream Live Here 11:30p.m. EST / 8:30p.,. PST

Freestyle Skiing

The USA has a chance to sweep the podium tonight with four Americans in the finals, all considered medal contenders. Aaron Blunck leads the Americans after he finished first in the qualifying run. Alex Ferreira and Torin Yater-Wallace finsihed second and third in qualifying, respectively.

Men’s Halfpipe Final Stream Live Here 9:30p.m. EST / 6:30p.m. PST


Jamie Anderson and Julia Marino are the medal hopefuls of the USA contingent, but they’ll have to challenge Austria’s Anna Gasser for the top spot. The rest of the field, too, have stepped up their game in the qualifying, with many landing 9’s or 10’s. With the final coming up, these women will be taking more risks to have a crack at gold.

Women’s Big Air Final Stream Live Here 7:30p.m. EST / 4:30p.m. PST

Men’s and Women’s Parallel Giant Slalom Qualif. Stream Live Here 10:00p.m. EST / 7:00p.m. PST


Great Britain will be looking to get back into the men’s semifinals. A defeat by the United States saw them drop into the tie-breaker, where they’ll be challenging Switzerland. The winner takes on no.1 seed Sweden in the semifinals Thursday morning.

GBR vs. SUI Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m. PST


Final World Cup Alpine skiing races canceled

Leave a comment

ARE, Sweden (AP) — Viktoria Rebensburg won her third season title in the giant slalom on Sunday without hitting the slopes at the World Cup finals.

Strong winds forced the cancellation of the season-ending GS while the German skier led the standings by 92 points from world champion Tessa Worley of France, who won the title last season. With a win worth 100 points, Rebensburg was a strong pre-race favorite to wrap up the title.

The last men’s slalom was also canceled, but that didn’t affect the final standings because Marcel Hirscher had already locked up the overall and discipline titles two weeks ago.

Both races were called off shortly before their respective starts as gusts made conditions on the hill potentially unsafe for the skiers. According to FIS rules, events at World Cup finals cannot be rescheduled.

Rebensburg, the Olympic GS gold medalist in 2010, also won the World Cup GS title in 2010-11 and 2011-12.

“It’s really something special. It’s been a few years now since my last globe. I am very proud that I managed to win it again,” said Rebensburg, who struggled with injuries in recent seasons.

She ruptured ligaments in her left knee three years ago and fractured the tibial plateau in her right leg just before the start of last season.

“Every globe has a special meaning but this one is more emotional because of the time in-between,” Rebensburg said. “I know what’s behind winning a globe. You have to be consistent throughout a whole season.”

In the overall standings, Rebensburg finished third behind winner Mikaela Shiffrin and runner-up Wendy Holdener of Switzerland.

Shiffrin, who had secured her second straight overall title last week, wrote on Twitter that she agreed with the decision to call off the last event of the season.

“Ahhhhhhh shoot! The race is canceled! But it’s really windy up here so probably a good call,” the American said.

Shiffrin finished the season on 1,773 points, 130 more than last season when she won her maiden overall title. Holdener was the only other skier to gather more than 1,000 points this season — 1,168.

The men’s overall champion also applauded the cancellation.

“If you see the wind and how the slalom gates are moving, you don’t have to talk about a fair race or a quality race,” said Hirscher, who missed out on the chance to set a World Cup record by winning his 14th race of the season.

“That’s not the important thing,” he said. “It’s the right decision.”

After the cancellation of the women’s race, Manuela Moelgg announced her retirement after 18 seasons on the circuit. The Italian veteran secured 14 podiums, including three third-place finishes this season, but failed to win a race in 283 World Cup starts.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Lindsey Vonn’s Olympic legacy

Declan Farmer heroics lift U.S. to Paralympic hockey title in OT (video)

1 Comment

Declan Farmer tied the Paralympic hockey final with 37.8 seconds to play, then scored the golden goal 3:30 into overtime to lift the U.S. over Canada 2-1 for gold on Sunday.

“It’s all a blur at the moment,” said Farmer, a 20-year-old Princeton student, “but when it comes back I will remember this day for the rest of my life.”

Farmer’s heroics gave the U.S. a third straight Paralympic title. No other nation has won two Paralympic golds in seven total tournaments.

The U.S. also finished the Winter Paralympics with the most medals (36) and most gold medals (13) for the first time since Albertville 1992.


When Farmer made a move seconds before scoring the tying goal, with the U.S. having pulled goalie Steve Cash, teammate and captain Josh Pauls thought to himself, “This is Declan Farmer time.” Farmer’s goal was the first allowed by Canada at the tournament, the shutout streak ending after 224 minutes.

Thirty seconds earlier, Canada’s Rob Armstrong had a chance to clinch gold on the empty net, but hit the post from an angle.

Farmer tallied a tournament-leading 11 goals and 17 points in his second Winter Games. His 14 career Paralympic goals are a U.S. record.

Last year, Farmer broke U.S. records for most goals (12) and points (18) at a world championship tournament, though Canada beat the U.S. in that final. He was born a bilateral amputee and started playing sled hockey at age 9.

Cash, who stopped 11 of 12 Canadian shots for his third Paralympic title, told Farmer after Sunday’s game that he was his hero.

“He’s the best overall sled hockey player to ever play the game,” Cash said, according to

The U.S. dedicated its tournament to its 2014 Paralympic coach, Jeff Sauer, who died of pancreatic cancer in February 2017.

“Coach Sauer is watching over us,” Farmer said.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Ledecky wins by 28 seconds on 21st birthday