Getty Images

Winter Olympics late night: What to watch/stream

Leave a comment


It’s going to be a disappointing Olympic campaign for Canadian curling. The nation has featured on the podium ever since the sport was reestablished in 1998. The women failed to make the medal rounds and the men were bounced by a hot USA in the semifinals. Next up for Canada are Switzerland, who were thumped by Sweden. Canada do have the capability of handling Switzerland, it’s just a matter of staying mentally sharp after such a disappointing loss.

On the women’s side, South Korea will continue their dream run as they take on Japan in the semifinals. The Koreans may not have been pegged as legitimate contenders in the lead-up to this tournament, but they’ve got the top seed and everyone else has taken notice of them. Opposite of the draw are Great Britain and Sweden, both of whom have been here before and will be looking to use that experience to bring them a gold medal in a Canada-less draw.

Men’s Tournament Bronze Medal Game

CAN vs. SUI Stream Live Here 1:35a.m. EST / 10:35p.m. PST

Women’s Tournament Semifinals 

KOR vs. JPN Stream Live Here 6:05a.m. EST / 3:05a.m. PST

GBR vs. SWE Stream Live Here 6:50a.m. EST / 3:50a.m. PST


The Athletes from Russia thoroughly took down USA in the quarterfinals, setting themselves up against the Czech Repbublic. The Czechs are very good on the defensive end, and if they can grab a 1-0 lead over the Russians it could pave the way for an historic upset, by Ilya Kovalchuk will be sure to make sure that his squad is firing on all cylinders.

Germany, who stunned Sweden in the quarterfinals, are the darlings of the tournament. They weren’t expected at all to contend, yet here they stand. It’ll be a tough ask to take down Canada, who are heavily favored to challenge OAR for the gold.

CZE vs. OAR Stream Live Here 2:40a.m. EST / 11:40p.m. PST

CAN vs. GER Stream Live Here 7:10a.m. EST / 4:10a.m. PST


Martin Fourcade has been a revelation this tournament. The Frenchman has already won three gold medals, including when he anchored his nation to gold in the mixed relay. The room for error is exceptionally small, but Fourcade’s shooting has gotten better in each race and his skiing is unmatched by any other competitor.

France can be challenged in the relay, though. If Germany and Norway shoot clean, something they’ve been inconsistent in, then they could make a big push for gold.

Men’s Team 4×7.5km Relay Stream Live Here 6:15a.m. EST / 3:15a.m. PST

Speed Skating

It’s been a disappointing campaign for the American men. Shani Davis and Joey Mantia will be hoping to reverse those fortunes. Kei Verbij of Netherlands and Havard Lorentzen are entering the event as the gold medal favorites.

Men’s 1000m Stream Live Here 5:00a.m. EST / 2:00a.m. PST


Alina Zagitova eyes more gold at worlds; women’s preview

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Alina Zagitova hasn’t lost internationally in 18 months, and that doesn’t figure to change this week at the world championships in Milan.

The 15-year-old Russian is favored to become the youngest world gold medalist since Tara Lipinski (duplicating her feat from the Olympics) and make it five straight Olympic or world titles for Russian women, the longest streak for one country since American Carol Heiss won six straight Olympic/world titles from 1956 through 1960.

Zagitova would also become the first Olympic women’s champion to win worlds the following month since Kristi Yamaguchi in 1992. That’s largely because Olympic champions usually skip worlds in Olympic years. Since Yamaguchi, the only one to compete was Yuna Kim, who grabbed silver in 2010.

Zagitova may be young, but she may not have the longevity of Kim to make it to a second Olympics. Russia turns over a new class of elite women’s skaters every year.

Two weeks ago, 13-year-old Alexandra Trusova won the world junior title as the first woman to land two different quadruple jumps in one program. Trusova isn’t old enough to compete at the senior worlds until 2020.

Zagitova’s current rival and training partner, Olympic silver medalist and 2016 and 2017 World champion Yevgenia Medvedeva, withdrew from worlds due to injury.

WORLDS: TV Schedule | Pairs Preview | Nagasu’s Outlook

Which leaves the last two Olympic bronze medalists, Kaetlyn Osmond of Canada and Carolina Kostner of Italy, plus PyeongChang fourth-place finisher Satoko Miyahara of Japan as the top challengers this week.

None finished within seven points of Zagitova at any competition this season, the Russian’s first on the senior international level.

Zagitova set herself apart at the Olympics by putting all of her jumps in the second half of her programs for 10 percent bonuses and landing them all with positive grades of execution.

The U.S. contingent includes national champion Bradie Tennell, two-time Olympian Mirai Nagasu and Mariah Bell (replacement for 2017 U.S. champion Karen Chen).

It is the end of a challenging season for U.S. women. In the autumn, none qualified for the Grand Prix Final for a second straight year (after at least one had done so each of the previous seven seasons).

In PyeongChang, no U.S. woman finished in the top six for the first time in Winter Games history. Tennell, who emerged this season after placing ninth at 2017 Nationals, was the top U.S. Olympic finisher in ninth.

Tennell goes into worlds as the top seeded American — seventh — by best international scores this season.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Best figure skating moments from PyeongChang

Olympic golf qualifying, format largely unchanged for 2020

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic golf tournaments qualifying and format will remain largely the same as they were for the sport’s return to the Games in 2016, according to Golf Channel, citing a memo sent to PGA Tour players.

The format will again be four rounds of stroke play with 60 men and 60 women taken from the world rankings, according to the report.

The qualifying window to determine the rankings will be July 1, 2018 to June 22, 2020 for men and July 8, 2018 to June 29, 2020 for women. That’s a slight change, as for 2016 the dates were the same for men and women.

The 2016 process saw a maximum of two men and two women per country, or up to four if they were ranked in the top 15.

Then-PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem said one month after the Rio Games that he hoped the Olympic golf format would be changed to have more medals awarded.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Michael Phelps lost money to Barack Obama in golf, actor says