Grand Prix Final qualifying picture

Patrick Chan

The Grand Prix Final field is nowhere near set going into the sixth and final qualifying event, the Rostelecom Cup in Moscow this week.

The Trophee Bompard winners last weekend — Patrick ChanAshley WagnerPang Qing and Tong Jian and Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir — all clinched spots in the Fukuoka, Japan, event from Dec. 5-6.

The Grand Prix Final field — six skaters in every discipline — will be completed after the Rostelecom Cup. The U.S. is likely to have two automatic entrants — Wagner and Meryl Davis and Charlie White.

Here are the standings pages, and here’s the outlook going into Moscow (likelihood of result in parentheses):


IN: Patrick Chan, Yuzuru Hanyu, Daisuke Takahashi, Yan Han
ON THE BUBBLE: Nobunari Oda, Adam Rippon
COMPETING IN MOSCOW (with a chance to get in): Tatsuki Machida, Maksim Kovtun

If Machida gets at least fourth place in Moscow, he’s in (very likely).

If Kovtun gets at least second in Moscow, he’s in (questionable). If Kovtun gets third, he must score at least 247.52 total points in Moscow to get in (8.87 more than he earned at the Cup of China).


IN: Mao Asada, Ashley Wagner, Anna Pogorilaya, Adelina Sotnikova
ON THE BUBBLE: Yelena Radyonova, Akiko Suzuki
COMPETING IN MOSCOW (with a chance to get in): Yulia Lipnitskaya, Carolina Kostner, Elizaveta Tuktamysheva, Kanako Murakami

If Lipnitskaya is fourth or better in Moscow, she’s in (likely).

If Kostner wins, she’s in (questionable). If she’s second, she’ll need to skate a personal-best points total and get some help.

Tuktamysheva and Murakami are in if either wins in Moscow (very unlikely).


IN: Tatyana Volosozhar/Maksim Trankov, Pang Qing/Tong Jian
ON THE BUBBLE: Meaghan Duhamel/Josh Radford, Peng Cheng/Zhang Hao, Sui Wenjing/Han Cong, Stefania Berton/Ondrej Hotarek
COMPETING IN MOSCOW (with a chance to get in): Aliona Savchenko/Robin Szolkowy, Kirsten Moore-Towers/Dylan Moscovitch, Ksenia Stolbova/Fedor Klimov, Vera Bazarova/Yuri Laryonov

If Savchenko/Szolkowy are fourth or better in Moscow, they’re in (very likely).

If Moore-Towers/Moscovitch are second or better in Moscow, they’re in. If third, they’re in if their total score is 173.08 or better (likely).

If Stolbova/Klimov win in Moscow, they’re in (very unlikely). If second, they could get in depending on results and total scores.

If Bazarova/Laryonov win in Moscow, they’re in (very unlikely).

Ice Dance

IN: Meryl Davis/Charlie White, Tessa Virtue/Scott Moir, Nathalie Pechalat/Fabian Bourzat, Anna Cappellini/Luca Lanotte
ON THE BUBBLE: Yelena Ilinykh/Nikita Katsalapov, Maia Shibutani/Alex Shibutani
COMPETING IN MOSCOW (with a chance to get in): Kaitlyn Weaver/Andrew Poje, Yekaterina Bobrova/Dmitry Soloviev, Madison Chock/Evan Bates, Yekaterina Riazanova/Ilia Tkachenko

If Weaver/Poje or Bobrova/Soloviev are second or better in Moscow, they’re in (likely). If either is third or fourth, they can still get in with help.

If Chock/Bates win in Moscow, they’re in. If they’re second, they’re in if Weaver/Poje, Bobrova/Soloviev and Riazanova/Tkachenko don’t win (very unlikely).

If Riazanova/Tkachenko win, they’re in (very unlikely).

Video: Ashley Wagner, Tessa Virtue/Scott Moir dazzle in Paris

Kendall Gretsch wins six gold medals at Para Nordic Ski Worlds

Kendall Gretsch

Kendall Gretsch, who won Paralympic titles at the last Summer and Winter Games, added another six gold medals at the World Para Nordic Skiing Championships in Sweden last week.

Gretsch, 30, earned seven total medals in seven days between biathlon and cross-country skiing.

Gretsch won gold medals in three different sports across the last three Paralympics: biathlon and cross-country skiing in 2018 (two years after taking up the sports), triathlon in 2021 and biathlon in 2022.

She plans to shift her focus back to triathlon after this winter for 2024 Paris Games qualification.

Gretsch, born with spina bifida, was the 2014 USA Triathlon Female Para Triathlete of the Year. Though triathlon was added to the Paralympics for the 2016 Rio Games, her classification was not added until Tokyo.

Also at last week’s worlds, six-time Paralympian Aaron Pike earned his first Paralympic or world championships gold medal in his decade-plus career, winning a 12.5km biathlon event.

Oksana Masters, who won seven medals in seven events at last year’s Paralympics to break the career U.S. Winter Paralympics medals record, missed worlds due to hand surgery.

The U.S. also picked up five medals at last week’s World Para Alpine Skiing Championships in Spain — three silvers for five-time Paralympian Laurie Stephens and two bronzes for 17-year-old Saylor O’Brien.

Stephens now has 18 career medals from world championships, plus seven at the Paralympics.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

World champion skier Kyle Smaine dies in avalanche at age 31

Kyle Smaine

Kyle Smaine, a retired world champion halfpipe skier, died in an avalanche in Japan on Sunday, according to NBC News, citing Smaine’s father. He was 31.

Smaine, a 2015 World champion in ski halfpipe, had been doing ski filming in Japan, sharing videos on his Instagram account over the past week.

The native of South Lake Tahoe, California, finished ninth in ski halfpipe at the 2016 Winter X Games in Aspen, Colorado.

In 2018, Smaine won the fifth and final U.S. Olympic qualifying series event in ski halfpipe but did not make the four-man team for PyeongChang. His last sanctioned international competition was in February 2018.

Late Sunday, two-time Olympic champion David Wise won the X Games men’s ski halfpipe and dedicated it to Smaine.

“We all did this for Kyle tonight,” Wise said on the broadcast. “It’s a little bit of an emotional day for us. We lost a friend.”