Michael Phelps, Katie Ledecky lead Golden Goggles nominees


Michael Phelps and Katie Ledecky are up for Male and Female Athlete and Race of the Year awards at the Golden Goggles. The nominees were announced by USA Swimming on Friday.

Phelps received five nominations and Ledecky four. Missy Franklin received three nominations. Ryan Lochte was not among the nominees for Male Athlete of the Year for the first time since 2006.

Online voting is available here through Nov. 14. A percentage of the fan vote will count toward the final results, awarded at the Nov. 24 Golden Goggle Awards in New York.

Japan star could go for Phelps-like medal haul at Rio 2016

The nominees:

Breakout Performer of the Year

Maya DiRado — Won her first individual medals at a major international meet, gold in the 200m individual medley and silver in the 400m individual medley at the Pan Pacific Championships.
Katie McLaughlin — Made her first U.S. team for a major international meet and won bronze in the 200m butterfly at the Pan Pacific Championships.
Ryan Murphy — Made his first U.S. team for a major international meet and won bronze in the 100m backstroke.
Cierra Runge — Made her first U.S. team for a major international meet and won silver in the 400m freestyle.
Kendyl Stewart — Made her first U.S. team for a major international meet and won silver in the 4x100m medley relay and bronze in the 100m butterfly.

Perseverance Award

Haley Anderson and Andrew Gemmell — Won Pan Pacific Championships open-water 10km titles after events were moved from Australia to Hawaii.
Kevin Cordes — Helped U.S. to 4x100m medley relay gold at Pan Pacific Championships after being disqualified in the 100m breaststroke.
Missy Franklin — Won four Pan Pacific Championships medals after suffering a back injury before the meet.
Michael Phelps — Won five Pan Pacific Championships medals after a 20-month competitive retirement.
Tom Shields — Swept U.S. titles in 100m and 200m butterfly to make his first U.S. team for a major international meet at age 23.

Coach of the Year

Bob Bowman — Star pupil: Michael Phelps
Dave Durden — Star pupil: Nathan Adrian
Bruce Gemmell — Star pupil: Katie Ledecky
David Marsh — Star pupil: Ryan Lochte

Relay Performance of the Year (all at Pan Pacific Championships)

Women’s 4x200m Free Relay — U.S. wins by 1.37 over Australia with Katie Ledecky‘s comeback anchor leg.
Men’s 4x200m Free Relay — U.S. wins by .13 over Japan with Matt McLean‘s comeback anchor leg.
Men’s 4x100m Medley Relay — U.S. wins by 2.14 over Japan in Pan Pacific Championships record time.

Female Race of the Year (all Pan Pacific Championships finals)

Cammile Adams’ 200m fly — Gold by .07 over Japan’s Natsumi Hoshi. Adams’ first medal at a major international meet.
Maya DiRado’s 200m IM — Gold in Pan Pacific Championships record time by .33 over Australia’s Alicia Coutts. DiRado’s first individual major international meet gold medal.
Jessica Hardy’s 100m breast — Gold by .04 over Japan’s Kanako Watanabe.
Katie Ledecky’s 400m free – Gold in world record time by 6.18 seconds over Cierra Runge.
Katie Ledecky’s 1500m free – Gold in world record time by 27.33 seconds over New Zealand’s Lauren Boyle.

Male Race of the Year (all Pan Pacific Championships finals)

Tyler Clary’s 200m back — Gold by .23 over Japan’s Ryosuke Irie.
Nic Fink’s 200m breast — Silver, .37 behind Japan’s Yasuhiro Koseki. Fink’s first major international meet medal.
Connor Jaeger’s 1500m free — Gold by .18 over Canada’s Ryan Cochrane, the biggest win of Jaeger’s career and first U.S. gold in the event at a major international meet in 30 years.
Michael Phelps’ 100m fly — Gold in .38 over Ryan Lochte in Phelps’ first major international meet since London 2012.

Phelps leads USADA drug-testing statistics

Female Athlete of the Year

Elizabeth Beisel — One gold, one bronze at Pan Pacific Championships.
Maya DiRado — One gold, one silver at Pan Pacific Championships.
Missy Franklin — One gold, two silvers, one bronze at Pan Pacific Championships.
Katie Ledecky — Five golds at Pan Pacific Championships.

Male Athlete of the Year

Tyler Clary — One gold, one silver, one bronze at Pan Pacific Championships.
Connor Jaeger — One gold, two bronzes at Pan Pacific Championships.
Michael Phelps — Three golds, two silvers at Pan Pacific Championships.

China swim star Sun Yang rips Japan anthem at Asian Games

Olympian Derrick Mein ends U.S. men’s trap drought at shotgun worlds

Derrick Mein

Tokyo Olympian Derrick Mein became the first U.S. male shooter to win a world title in the trap event since 1966, prevailing at the world shotgun championships in Osijek, Croatia, on Wednesday.

Mein, who grew up on a small farm in Southeast Kansas, hunting deer and quail, nearly squandered a place in the final when he missed his last three shots in the semifinal round after hitting his first 22. He rallied in a sudden-death shoot-off for the last spot in the final by hitting all five of his targets.

He hit 33 of 34 targets in the final to win by two over Brit Nathan Hales with one round to spare.

The last U.S. man to win an Olympic trap title was Donald Haldeman in 1976.

Mein, 37, was 24th in his Olympic debut in Tokyo (and placed 13th with Kayle Browning in the mixed-gender team event).

The U.S. swept the Tokyo golds in the other shotgun event — skeet — with Vincent Hancock and Amber English. Browning took silver in women’s trap.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Mo Farah withdraws before London Marathon

Mo Farah

British track legend Mo Farah withdrew before Sunday’s London Marathon, citing a right hip injury before what would have been his first 26.2-mile race in nearly two years.

Farah, who swept the 2012 and 2016 Olympic track titles at 5000m and 10,000m, said he hoped “to be back out there” next April, when the London Marathon returns to its traditional month after COVID moved it to the fall for three consecutive years. Farah turns 40 on March 23.

“I’ve been training really hard over the past few months and I’d got myself back into good shape and was feeling pretty optimistic about being able to put in a good performance,” in London, Farah said in a press release. “However, over the past 10 days I’ve been feeling pain and tightness in my right hip. I’ve had extensive physio and treatment and done everything I can to be on the start line, but it hasn’t improved enough to compete on Sunday.”

Farah switched from the track to the marathon after the 2017 World Championships and won the 2018 Chicago Marathon in a then-European record time of 2:05:11. Belgium’s Bashir Abdi now holds the record at 2:03:36.

Farah returned to the track in a failed bid to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics, then shifted back to the roads.

Sunday’s London Marathon men’s race is headlined by Ethiopians Kenenisa Bekele and Birhanu Legese, the second- and third-fastest marathoners in history.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!