FINA names Katinka Hosszu over Katie Ledecky for Swimmer of the Year

Katinka Hosszu
1 Comment

FINA announced Hungary’s Katinka Hosszu as its Female Swimmer of the Year, over American Katie Ledecky, who broke world records in the 400m, 800m and 1500m freestyles in 2014.

Swimming’s international governing body named South African Chad le Clos its Male Swimmer of the Year over Japanese Kosuke Hagino, who won a combined 10 individual medals at the Pan Pacific Championships and Asian Games.

FINA began awarding Male and Female Swimmer of the Year awards in 2010. Of the first eight winners, seven were Americans (the outlier Swede Therese Alshammar in 2010). This is the first year neither winner was American.

In 2013, the awards went to Ryan Lochte and Ledecky via 674 voters made up of FINA National Federations, FINA Committees, media, partners and experts in aquatic sports. This year’s press release didn’t say if the winners were chosen any differently.

Hosszu and Le Clos were the top performers this year in FINA’s World Cup series, global meets that the top U.S. swimmers often skip.

Hosszu, the 2013 World champion in the 200m and 400m individual medley, broke five world records in 25-meter pools this year. Ledecky’s world records came in Olympic-size 50-meter pools.

Hosszu also won six medals at the European Championships, including three individual golds. Ledecky won five gold medals, including four individual golds, at the Pan Pacific Championships, which did not include European swimmers.

Le Clos, who memorably beat Michael Phelps in the 2012 Olympic 200m butterfly, won seven medals at the 2014 Commonwealth Games, including two individual golds. The Commonwealth Games do not include the U.S., China and Japan.

Hagino was the top performer at the Pan Pacific Championships, sweeping the individual medleys, including beating Lochte and Phelps in the 200m IM. Le Clos did not compete at Pan Pacs.

Hagino, 20, was also the best swimmer at the Asian Games, pitting the top swimmers from nations such as China, Japan and South Korea.

South Africa readies to bid for 2024 Olympics

In a tie, Wendy Holdener puts to rest a remarkable stat in Alpine skiing


Swiss Wendy Holdener ended one of the most remarkable victory droughts in sports by tying for the win with Swede Anna Swenn Larsson in a World Cup slalom in Killington, Vermont, on Sunday.

Holdener, after 15 second-place finishes and 15 third-place finishes in her career, stood on the top step of a World Cup slalom podium for the first time. She shared it with Swenn Larsson, who had six World Cup slalom podiums before Sunday and also earned her first win.

They beat Austrian Katharina Truppe by .22 of a second combining times from two runs.

ALPINE SKIING: Full Results | Broadcast Schedule

Holdener, 29, previously won three World Cups in other disciplines, plus two world championships in the combined and Olympic and world titles in the team event.

“To be tied first when I came into the finish was such a relief,” Holdener said while shoulder to shoulder with Swenn Larsson. “On the end, it’s perfect, because now we can share our first win together.”

Mikaela Shiffrin had the best first-run time but lost her lead midway through the second run and finished fifth. Shiffrin, who won the first two slaloms this season last weekend, was bidding for a 50th World Cup slalom victory and a sixth win in six slaloms in Killington.

“I fought. I think some spots I got a little bit off my timing, but I was pushing, and that’s slalom,” she said before turning her attention to Holdener and Swenn Larsson. “It’s a pretty special day, actually.”

The women’s Alpine skiing World Cup moves next weekend to Lake Louise, Alberta, with two downhills and a super-G.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Injured Ilia Malinin wins Grand Prix Finland, qualifies for Grand Prix Final

Ilia Malinin

Ilia Malinin, competing “a little bit injured” this week, still won Grand Prix Finland and goes into the Grand Prix Final in two weeks as the world’s top-ranked male singles skater.

Malinin, who was second after Friday’s short program, landed four clean quadruple jumps in Saturday’s free skate to overtake Frenchman Kevin Aymoz.

Malinin, who landed a quad flip in competition for the first time, according to, also attempted a quad Axel to open his program, but spun out of the landing and put his hand down on the ice.

Malinin also won his previous two starts this season in come-from-behind fashion. The 17-year-old world junior champion became the first skater to land a clean, fully rotated quad Axel in September, then did it again in October at Skate America, where he posted the world’s top overall score this season.

Next, Malinin can become the second-youngest man to win the Grand Prix Final after Russian Yevgeny Plushenko. His biggest competition is likely to be world champion Shoma Uno of Japan, who like Malinin won both of his Grand Prix starts this fall. Malinin and Uno have not gone head-to-head this season.

Grand Prix Finland highlights air on NBC, and the NBC Sports app on Sunday at 3:30 p.m. ET.

FIGURE SKATING: Results | Broadcast Schedule

Earlier, Japan’s Mai Mihara overtook world silver medalist Loena Hendrickx of Belgium to become the only woman to win both of her Grand Prix starts this season. Mihara prevailed by .23 of a point. The top three women this season by best total score are Japanese, led by a junior skater, 14-year-old Mao Shimada, who isn’t Olympic age-eligible until 2030.

Mihara and Hendrickx qualified for the Grand Prix Final, joining world champion Kaori Sakamoto and Rinka Watanabe, both of Japan, South Korean Yelim Kim and American Isabeau Levito, the world junior champion.

Italians Rebecca Ghilardi and Filippo Ambrosini won both pairs’ programs and qualified for their first Grand Prix Final.

Japan’s Riku Miura and Ryuichi Kihara and Americans Alexa Knierim and Brandon Frazier headline the Final. Both pairs won each of their Grand Prix starts earlier this fall. The Japanese have the world’s two best scores this season. The Americans are reigning world champions.

At least one Russian or Chinese pair made every Grand Prix Final podium — usually pairs from both countries — but neither nation competed in pairs this Grand Prix season. All Russian skaters are banned due to the war in Ukraine. China’s lone entry on the Grand Prix across all disciplines was an ice dance couple.

Canadians Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier improved on their world-leading score for this season in winning the ice dance by 17.03 points over Americans Kaitlin Hawayek and Jean-Luc Baker. Both couples qualified for the Grand Prix Final in the absence of all three Olympic medalists this fall.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!