Olympic champions come up short for AP Female Athlete of the Year


Little League World Series star Mo’ne Davis, 13, was voted the youngest-ever Associated Press Female Athlete of the Year, an award given since 1931.

The highest-placing Olympian was third, tennis player Serena Williams, who won one Grand Slam tournament in an average-at-best year for her. Williams received 13 votes, behind Davis (31) and basketball player Lauren Hill (14), who played college basketball while battling terminal brain cancer.

The highest-placing Sochi Olympian was Alpine skier Mikaela Shiffrin, who tied for seventh with four votes. Shiffrin became the youngest Olympic slalom champion at age 18.

It’s the lowest place for the top Winter Olympian in a Winter Olympic year since the Winter and Summer Olympics began alternating even-numbered years with the Lillehammer 1994 Winter Games.

This is the first year that an Olympian did not win the award since Mexican golfer Lorena Ochoa in 2007. The only Winter Olympian to win in the last 20 years was Lindsey Vonn in 2010.

Here were the results:

Athlete Votes
Mo’ne Davis 31
Lauren Hill 14
Serena Williams 13
Katie Ledecky 7
Michelle Wie 5
Ronda Rousey 5
Mikaela Shiffrin 4
Stacy Lewis 4
Brittney Griner 3
Maya Moore 3
Simone Biles 2
Danica Patrick 1
Tina Maze 1
Ireen Wust 1

Video: Tara Lipinski, Johnny Weir share New Year’s resolutions