Frenchman stuns to finish World Alpine Skiing Championships (video)

Leave a comment

The World Alpine Skiing Championships concluded with a huge surprise.

France’s Jean-Baptiste Grange won the slalom, after Austrian favorite Marcel Hirscher straddled a gate near the end of his second run, his .88 first-run lead over Grange evaporating with the finish line approaching under snowfall.

“Visibility was really bad, especially in the last part, I can’t see really anything,” Hirscher said on Eurosport. “That is part of our sport.”

Grange, 30, won his first top-level international race since his gold in the slalom at the 2011 World Championships.

Grange was fifth-fastest in the morning run but prevailed by .35 combining times from both runs. Germans Fritz Dopfer and Felix Neureuther captured silver and bronze.

Hirscher, the three-time World Cup overall champion trying to repeat as World slalom champ, was .28 faster than the field in the morning. Hirscher was trying to win his third gold medal of the World Championships, to go along with one silver.

“These World Championships were very successful for me,” Hirscher said on Eurosport. “Yes it sucks, but who cares.”

Hirscher said his Worlds still went “way better than expected.”

“My personal goal was to win one medal in any color,” he said on Eurosport.

The top American was Ted Ligety in 21st. Mexican six-time Olympian Prince Hubertus von Hohenlohe, famous for skiing in a mariachi suit in Sochi, placed 46th of 46 finishers, 58.09 seconds behind Grange.

Hohenlohe, 56, technically beat the three previous Olympic slalom champions and the previous World champion Hirscher, all of whom did not complete two runs.

The Alpine skiing season continues with World Cup races in Europe next weekend, expected to include Lindsey Vonn and Mikaela Shiffrin.

U.S. betters Netherlands at speed skating World Championships

Mikaela Shiffrin returns with mantra, stuck to her helmet, to carry forever

Mikaela Shiffrin
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Look close at Mikaela Shiffrin as she steps into a race start gate for the first time in eight months on Oct. 17.

Shiffrin, the two-time Olympic gold medalist and three-time World Cup overall champion, plans to wear a helmet with two special stickers on the back.

She’s donned the first decal for years — the initials ABFTTB, which stand for “Always Be Faster Than The Boys,” a personalized autograph motto from retired Olympic Alpine skier Heidi Voelker.

The new sticker reads, Be nice. Think first. Have fun.

Those lines came from Shiffrin’s father, Jeff — the mantra instilled in her and older brother Taylor, also a young ski racer at the time.

After Jeff died on Feb. 2, Shiffrin regularly remembered the question that Jeff posed years ago: “What are the golden rules?”

Be nice. Think first.

When the Shiffrin siblings were old enough, Jeff added the third rule.

“He felt like we could understand that having fun wasn’t just about going and doing whatever you want because it’s instantly gratifying,” Shiffrin told NBC Sports’ Alex Azzi in an On Her Turf interview. “Fun is doing something well and the satisfaction you get from sticking to something.”

She plans to race all season with the golden rules sticker on her helmet, right next to ABFTTB.

Shiffrin detailed more about her prep for a very different World Cup campaign, in conjunction with a new fund in honor of her late father, in this On Her Turf report.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

2020 Tour de France results

1 Comment

2020 Tour de France results for the yellow jersey, green jersey, white jersey and polka-dot jersey …

Overall (Yellow Jersey)
1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) — 87:20:05
2. Primoz Roglic (SLO) — +:59
3. Richie Porte (AUS) — +3:30
4. Mikel Landa (ESP) — +5:58
5. Enric Mas (ESP) — +6:07
6. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL) — +6:47
7. Tom Dumoulin (NED) — +7:48
8. Rigberto Uran (COL) — +8:02
9. Adam Yates (GBR) — +9:25
10. Damiano Caruso (ITA) — +14:03
13. Richard Carapaz (ECU) — +25:53
15. Sepp Kuss (USA) — +42:20
17. Nairo Quintana (COL) — +1:03:07
29. Thibaut Pinot (FRA) — +1:59:54
36. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) — +2:19:11
DNF. Egan Bernal (COL)

Sprinters (Green Jersey)
1. Sam Bennett (IRL) — 380 points
2. Peter Sagan (SVK) — 284
3. Matteo Trentin (ITA) — 260
4. Bryan Coquard (FRA) — 181
5. Wout van Aert (BEL) — 174

Climbers (Polka-Dot Jersey)
1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) — 82 points
2. Richard Carapaz (ECU) — 74
3. Primoz Roglic (SLO) — 67
4. Marc Hirschi (SUI) — 62
5. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL) — 51

Young Rider (White Jersey)
1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) — 87:20:13
2. Enric Mas (ESP) — +6:07
3. Valentin Madouas (FRA) — +1:42:43
4. Dani Martinez (COL) — +1:55:12
5. Lennard Kamna (GER) — +2:15:39

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

TOUR DE FRANCE: TV, Stream Schedule | Stage By Stage | Favorites, Predictions