David Boudia

USA Diving finalizes World Championships roster

Leave a comment

Olympic platform champion David Boudia leads the U.S. diving team for the World Championships in Kazan, Russia, in July and August.

Boudia dominated the platform event at the World Championships trials in Bloomington, Ind., over the weekend. He compiled 1,544.05 points to win by 190.5 points over David Dinsmore, a 17-year-old who made his first Worlds team.

Boudia is expected to go up against two-time defending World champion Qiu Bo of China in Kazan, plus Qiu’s countryman Yang Jian and Olympic bronze medalist Tom Daley of Great Britain.

Boudia won the U.S.’ only medal at the 2013 World Championships, silver behind Qiu, reversing their finish from the London Olympics.

Four-time Olympian Troy Dumais, 35, failed to make the Worlds team on the springboard (individual or synchronized) for the first time since 1994. Dumais made the last eight World Championships teams, starting as an 18-year-old in 1998, when he captured silver on the 1m springboard.

He finished third in his last chance at trials, the 3m springboard. A maximum of two divers can represent one nation in an event at Worlds.

Here’s the full U.S. diving roster for Worlds:

Men’s 1m springboard
Kristian Ipsen
Michael Hixon

Men’s 3m springboard
Michael Hixon
Darian Schmidt

Men’s platform
David Boudia
David Dinsmore

Women’s 1m springboard
Samantha Pickens
Ariel Rittenhouse

Women’s 3m springboard
Laura Ryan
Abby Johnston (*added June 22)

Women’s platform
Amy Cozad
Jessica Parratto

Men’s synchronized springboard
Kristian Ipsen and Sam Dorman

Women’s synchronized springboard
Abby Johnston and Laura Ryan

Men’s synchronized platform
David Boudia and Steele Johnson

Women’s synchronized platform
Amy Cozad and Jessica Parratto

Mixed synchronized springboard
Abby Johnston and Jordan Windle

Mixed synchronized platform
Murphy Bromberg and Mark Anderson

David Boudia scraps springboard plan; Nick McCrory retires

Mikaela Shiffrin returns with mantra, stuck to her helmet, to carry forever

Mikaela Shiffrin
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Look close at Mikaela Shiffrin as she steps into a race start gate for the first time in eight months on Oct. 17.

Shiffrin, the two-time Olympic gold medalist and three-time World Cup overall champion, plans to wear a helmet with two special stickers on the back.

She’s donned the first decal for years — the initials ABFTTB, which stand for “Always Be Faster Than The Boys,” a personalized autograph motto from retired Olympic Alpine skier Heidi Voelker.

The new sticker reads, Be nice. Think first. Have fun.

Those lines came from Shiffrin’s father, Jeff — the mantra instilled in her and older brother Taylor, also a young ski racer at the time.

After Jeff died on Feb. 2, Shiffrin regularly remembered the question that Jeff posed years ago: “What are the golden rules?”

Be nice. Think first.

When the Shiffrin siblings were old enough, Jeff added the third rule.

“He felt like we could understand that having fun wasn’t just about going and doing whatever you want because it’s instantly gratifying,” Shiffrin told NBC Sports’ Alex Azzi in an On Her Turf interview. “Fun is doing something well and the satisfaction you get from sticking to something.”

She plans to race all season with the golden rules sticker on her helmet, right next to ABFTTB.

Shiffrin detailed more about her prep for a very different World Cup campaign, in conjunction with a new fund in honor of her late father, in this On Her Turf report.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

2020 Tour de France results

1 Comment

2020 Tour de France results for the yellow jersey, green jersey, white jersey and polka-dot jersey …

Overall (Yellow Jersey)
1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) — 87:20:05
2. Primoz Roglic (SLO) — +:59
3. Richie Porte (AUS) — +3:30
4. Mikel Landa (ESP) — +5:58
5. Enric Mas (ESP) — +6:07
6. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL) — +6:47
7. Tom Dumoulin (NED) — +7:48
8. Rigberto Uran (COL) — +8:02
9. Adam Yates (GBR) — +9:25
10. Damiano Caruso (ITA) — +14:03
13. Richard Carapaz (ECU) — +25:53
15. Sepp Kuss (USA) — +42:20
17. Nairo Quintana (COL) — +1:03:07
29. Thibaut Pinot (FRA) — +1:59:54
36. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) — +2:19:11
DNF. Egan Bernal (COL)

Sprinters (Green Jersey)
1. Sam Bennett (IRL) — 380 points
2. Peter Sagan (SVK) — 284
3. Matteo Trentin (ITA) — 260
4. Bryan Coquard (FRA) — 181
5. Wout van Aert (BEL) — 174

Climbers (Polka-Dot Jersey)
1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) — 82 points
2. Richard Carapaz (ECU) — 74
3. Primoz Roglic (SLO) — 67
4. Marc Hirschi (SUI) — 62
5. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL) — 51

Young Rider (White Jersey)
1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) — 87:20:13
2. Enric Mas (ESP) — +6:07
3. Valentin Madouas (FRA) — +1:42:43
4. Dani Martinez (COL) — +1:55:12
5. Lennard Kamna (GER) — +2:15:39

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

TOUR DE FRANCE: TV, Stream Schedule | Stage By Stage | Favorites, Predictions