Jordan Burroughs

Jordan Burroughs leads U.S. wrestling team for World Championships

1 Comment

Olympic champion Jordan Burroughs beat four-time NCAA champion Kyle Dake at the World Championships trials and will lead the U.S. roster for Worlds in Las Vegas in September.

Burroughs, the 2011 and 2013 World champion who took bronze while injured last year, defeated Dake 6-3, 14-4 in a best-of-three series for the 74kg berth.

“Whenever someone questions my ability to represent this country at the Worlds stage and the Olympic stage, I take that personally,” Burroughs told media in Madison, Wis., saying he wrestled with an injured, taped ankle Sunday and prepared for his match by changing his baby Beacon‘s diaper in the morning. “There were a number of people, a lot of tweets, a lot of messages on various social media networks that said Dake would beat me today. It’s the same thing every year. … Every year, I remain.”

Burroughs will be joined on the World Championships team by a group including Adeline Gray, the reigning women’s 75kg World champion. The U.S.’ other 2012 Olympic gold medalist, Jake Varner, lost his winner-goes-to-Worlds final Sunday to Kyle Snyder.

Here’s the full U.S. roster for Worlds:

Men’s Freestyle
Tony Ramos — 57kg
Reece Humphrey — 61kg
Brent Metcalf — 65kg
James Green — 70kg
Jordan Burroughs — 74kg
Jake Herbert — 86kg
Kyle Snyder — 97kg
Tervel Dlagnev — 125kg

Women’s Freestyle
Alyssa Lampe — 48kg
Whitney Conder — 53kg
Helen Maroulis — 55kg
Alli Ragan — 58kg
Leigh Jaynes-Provisor — 60kg
Erin Clodgo — 63kg
Elena Pirozhkova — 69kg
Adeline Gray — 75kg

Spenser Mango — 59kg
Bryce Saddoris — 66kg
Justin Lester — 71kg
Andy Bisek — 75kg
Patrick Martinez — 80kg
Jordan Holm — 85kg
Caylor Williams — 98kg
Robby Smith — 130kg

Rulon Gardner returns to wrestling training, wants his gold medal back

Anna van der Breggen is first cyclist to sweep road world titles in 25 years

Anna van der Breggen
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Dutchwoman Anna van der Breggen added the road race crown to her time trial victory at the world road cycling championships, becoming the second rider in history to win both events at the same edition.

“This is, for me, pretty good so far,” she said.

Van der Breggen, the Rio Olympic road race champion, won after a solo attack with more than 25 miles left of an 89-mile course in Imola, Italy, on Saturday.

She prevailed after more than four hours of racing by 80 seconds over countrywoman Annemiek van Vleuten, the 2019 champion. Van Vleuten raced nine days after breaking her left wrist in a Giro Rosa crash.

Italian Elisa Longo Borghini took bronze in the same time as van Vleuten after losing a photo-finish sprint. Lauren Stephens was the top American in 11th.

Full results are here.

The race lacked American standout Chloé Dygert, who crashed out of the time trial while leading on Thursday and required leg surgery.

Van der Breggen joined Frenchwoman Jeannie Longo as the only male or female cyclists to sweep the time trial and road race at a single worlds. Longo did so in 1995 at age 36.

Van der Breggen, 30, said in May that she will retire after the 2021 Olympic season.

It will be the end of one of the great cycling careers. She is now a three-time world champion and nine-time world medalist to go along with her road race gold and time trial bronze in her Olympic debut in Rio.

Worlds conclude Sunday with the men’s road race. A TV and stream schedule is here.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: A more equal future for women’s cycling? Lizzie Deignan has high hopes

2020 French Open TV, live stream schedule

Leave a comment

Rafael Nadal and Serena Williams can each tie Grand Slam singles titles records at the French Open, with daily live coverage among NBC Sports, Peacock and Tennis Channel.

NBC coverage starts Sunday with first-round action at Roland Garros, its 38th straight year covering the event. Tennis Channel airs the majority of weekday coverage. Peacock, NBC Universal’s new streaming service, has middle weekend broadcasts.

All NBC TV coverage alo streams on and the NBC Sports app.

Nadal is the primary men’s storyline, favored to tie Roger Federer‘s male record of 20 major titles and extend his own record of 12 French Open crowns. Federer is absent after knee operations earlier this year.

The Spaniard’s primary competition is top-ranked Novak Djokovic, the 2016 French Open champion whose only defeat in 2020 was a U.S. Open default for hitting a ball that struck a linesperson in the throat.

Williams bids again to match the overall Grand Slam singles mark of 24 held by Australian Margaret Court. Williams, a three-time French Open champion, lost in the third and fourth round the last two years and is coming off a U.S. Open semifinal exit.

The women’s field is led by 2018 champion Simona Halep but lacks defending champion Ash Barty of Australia, not traveling due to the coronavirus pandemic. Also out: U.S. Open winner Naomi Osaka, citing a sore hamstring and tight turnaround from prevailing in New York two weeks ago.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: How Jay-Z, Beyonce helped Naomi Osaka come out of her shell

French Open TV Schedule

Date Time (ET) Network Round
Sunday, Sept. 27 5 a.m.-3 p.m. Tennis Channel First Round
12-3 p.m. NBC
Monday, Sept. 28 5 a.m.-3 p.m. Tennis Channel First Round
Tuesday, Sept. 29 5 a.m.-3 p.m. Tennis Channel First Round
Wednesday, Sept. 30 5 a.m.-3 p.m. Tennis Channel Second Round
Thursday, Oct. 1 5 a.m.-3 p.m. Tennis Channel Second Round
Friday, Oct. 2 5 a.m.-3 p.m. Tennis Channel Third Round
Saturday, Oct. 3 5 a.m.-12 p.m. Tennis Channel Third Round
11 a.m. Peacock
Sunday, Oct. 4 5 a.m.-12 p.m. Tennis Channel Fourth Round
11 a.m. Peacock
Monday, Oct. 5 5 a.m.-3 p.m. Tennis Channel Fourth Round
11 a.m. Peacock
Tuesday, Oct. 6 6 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Tennis Channel Quarterfinals
Wednesday, Oct. 7 6 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Tennis Channel Quarterfinals
Thursday, Oct. 8 5 a.m.-2 p.m. Tennis Channel Women’s Semis
11 a.m. NBC, NBCSN
Friday, Oct. 9 5 a.m.-4 p.m. Tennis Channel Men’s Semis
11 a.m. NBC, NBCSN
Saturday, Oct. 10 9 a.m. NBC Women’s Final
Sunday, Oct. 11 9 a.m. NBC Men’s Final