Missy Franklin named top NCAA female athlete


Missy Franklin won the Honda Cup on Monday, an award given to the nation’s top college female athlete.

Franklin, a four-time 2012 Olympic champion, won three NCAA Swimming Championships individual titles as a sophomore this past season and helped the California Bears to the NCAA team title.

She turned professional after the NCAA Championships in March, ending her college swimming career.

Franklin beat out finalists University of Florida softball player Lauren Haeger and University of Connecticut basketball player Breanna Stewart, who is also a 2016 Olympic hopeful.

Other individual Honda Sports Award winners included Oregon sprinter Jenna Prandini (track and field), UCLA’s Sam Mewis (soccer) and Florida’s Kytra Hunter (gymnastics).

Franklin was the first swimmer to win the award since Olympian Tara Kirk in 2004.

Video: Missy Franklin flies in F-16 with Air Force Thunderbirds