Ashton Eaton, Allyson Felix named USATF Athletes of the Year

1 Comment

Olympic and World champions Ashton Eaton and Allyson Felix won USA Track and Field’s annual athlete of the year awards.

Eaton broke his world record in the decathlon in repeating as World champion in August, his first decathlon in nearly two years. He’s also one of three finalists for the IAAF men’s Athlete of the Year award.

Eaton also won the USATF’s Jesse Owens Award in 2012, when he first broke the world record and earned Olympic gold.

“First thing I thought of was the actual Jesse Owens Award and how much better care I’m going to take with this one,” Eaton said in a press release. “In 2012, 30 seconds after I got the award, I dropped it on the ground and broke it in half. I had to get USATF to make a new one.”

Felix captured the award for the fifth time dating to 2005, after she won her first World 400m title in August. She is not a finalist for the IAAF women’s Athlete of the Year.