U.S. women’s soccer names 20-player roster for Olympic qualifying

Carli Lloyd, Hope Solo

Olympic champions Carli LloydAlex Morgan and Hope Solo will lead the U.S. women’s soccer team in the CONCACAF Olympic women’s qualifying tournament in Texas next month.

U.S. Soccer announced the 20-player qualifying roster on Tuesday. If the U.S. reaches the tournament final, it will earn an Olympic spot and then have to choose an 18-player roster for Rio, where it would be going for a fourth straight gold medal.

The Olympic team can include players who are not on the qualifying roster.

The qualifying squad is without 10 players from the 2015 Women’s World Cup — including the retired Abby WambachLori ChalupnyLauren Holiday and Shannon Boxx, the pregnant Sydney Leroux and Amy Rodriguez and the injured Megan Rapinoe and Christie Rampone.

Active, healthy World Cup veterans who attended a January training camp and were not chosen were Whitney Engen and Heather O’Reilly.

Here’s the team:

Ashlyn Harris
Alyssa Naeher
Hope Solo

Jaelene Hinkle
Julie Johnston
Meghan Klingenberg
Ali Krieger
Kelley O’Hara
Becky Sauerbrunn
Emily Sonnett

Morgan Brian
Tobin Heath
Lindsey Horan
Carli Lloyd
Samantha Mewis

Crystal Dunn
Stephanie McCaffrey
Alex Morgan
Christen Press
Mallory Pugh

MORE: Carli Lloyd ranks Olympic-winning goals, World Cup hat trick