Rio Olympics six months out: U.S. Olympic team roster

0 Comments

Eighteen U.S. athletes have already clinched Olympic berths, six months out from the Rio Opening Ceremony.

The complete U.S. Olympic team will eventually include more than 500 athletes. Olympic trials and selections will continue into July (key dates here).

The group of 18 athletes already qualified includes four gold medalists — fencer Mariel Zagunis and shooters Glenn Eller, Matthew Emmons and Vincent Hancock. Eller is slated to compete in his fifth straight Olympics.

Here’s the full list of Olympic qualifiers by sport:

Boxing
Carlos Balderas

Fencing
Ibtihaj Muhammad — @ibtihajmuhammad
Mariel Zagunis — @marielzagunis

Modern Pentathlon
Nathan Schrimsher — @pentnate5

Shooting
Morgan Craft — @morgancraft25
Glenn Eller — @wgeller3
Matthew Emmons — @mattemmonsusa
Vincent Hancock — @vincent_hancock
Michael McPhail
Keith Sanderson

Swimming
Haley Anderson — @Swimhaley
Sean Ryan — @seanryan92
Jordan Wilimovsky — @j_wilimovsky

Table Tennis
Jennifer Wu

Taekwondo
Jackie Galloway — @ikick_urface

Triathlon
Gwen Jorgensen – @gwenjorgensen
Sarah True — @sgroffy

Weightlifting
Jenny Arthur — @jlarthur2016

SIX MONTHS OUT: Burning Questions | Team USA Roster | Rio Schedule Highlights | Key Qualifying, Trials Dates | Records Watch | Brazil’s Preparations