U.S. fails to qualify Olympic men’s freestyle weight class for first time

Frank Molinaro
Getty Images

There will be a men’s freestyle wrestling division at a non-boycotted Olympics without a U.S. entry for the first time this summer.

Frank Molinaro failed in his last chance to earn the U.S. a 65kg berth in Rio, losing in the quarterfinals of an Olympic qualifying tournament in Istanbul on Sunday.

Molinaro, the Olympic Trials champion, needed to make the finals to clinch an Olympic spot.

The U.S. had three previous chances to earn a Rio berth in the division at the 2015 World Championships (Brent Metcalf lost in the round of 16 when he needed to be top six), a March Pan American tournament (Metcalf lost in the quarterfinals when he needed to make the final) and an April world tournament in Mongolia (Molinaro lost in the round of 16 when he needed to be top three).

Including the six divisions in Rio, there have been 198 Olympic men’s freestyle events since the technique’s debut at the St. Louis 1904 Games.

The U.S. has now qualified in 197 of 198 in those 112 years, with the Rio 65kg now being the lone exception.

The U.S. Olympic wrestling team will include 13 members total in 18 weight classes, the first time the roster size is fewer than 16 since 1952, when the U.S. didn’t enter any Greco-Roman wrestlers at the Helsinki Games.

MORE: Wrestler goes from living in pickup truck to Olympic team

South Korea’s first gold medalist of 2018 PyeongChang Olympics to compete for China

Lim Hyo-Jun

Lim Hyo-Jun, a short track speed skater who won South Korea’s first gold medal of the 2018 PyeongChang Olympics, has been cleared to skate for China and was reportedly named to the national team Monday.

Lim, who won the 1500m on the first day of medal competition at the PyeongChang Games, began the process of switching to China after a June 2019 incident where he pulled down a teammate’s trousers, leaving him standing, exposed, in front of female teammates.

Lim, the 2019 World overall champion, was banned from the team for a year and later found guilty of sexual harassment before the verdict was overturned on appeal.

It was reported in March 2021 that Lim was in the process of trying to gain Chinese nationality to compete at the Beijing Winter Olympics, but Lim was not cleared to switch by the International Skating Union until this July. His Chinese name is Lin Xiaojun.

Another star South Korean skater, triple 2006 Olympic gold medalist Ahn Hyun-Soo, switched to Russia after not making the 2010 Olympic team. He then won three golds for the host nation as Viktor Ahn at the 2014 Sochi Games.

China’s national team for the upcoming season reportedly does not include veterans Wu Dajing, the nation’s lone gold medalist across all sports at the 2018 Olympics, and Fan Kexin, a three-time Olympic medalist.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Brigid Kosgei, world record holder, to miss London Marathon

Brigid Kosgei

World record holder Brigid Kosgei withdrew before Sunday’s London Marathon due to a right hamstring injury that has bothered her for the last month.

“My training has been up and down and not the way I would like to prepare to be in top condition,” was posted on Kosgei’s social media. “We’ve decided it’s best I withdraw from this year’s race and get further treatment on my injuries in order to enter 2023 stronger than ever.”

Kosgei, a 28-year-old Kenyan mother of twins, shattered the world record by 81 seconds at the 2019 Chicago Marathon. She clocked 2:14:04 to smash Brit Paula Radcliffe‘s record from 2003.

Since, Kosgei won the 2020 London Marathon, took silver at the Tokyo Olympics, placed fourth at the 2021 London Marathon and won this past March’s Tokyo Marathon in what was then the third-fastest time in history (2:16:02).

Ethiopian Tigist Assefa moved into the top three by winning the Berlin Marathon last Sunday in 2:15:37.

The London Marathon women’s field includes Kenyan Joyciline Jepkosgei, a winner in New York City (2019) and London (2021), and Yalemzerf Yehualaw, who was the Ethiopian record holder until Assefa won in Berlin.

The men’s field is headlined by Ethiopian Kenenisa Bekele, the second-fastest male marathoner in history, and Brit Mo Farah, a four-time Olympic champion on the track.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!