Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

Great Britain’s Farah wins men’s 10,000, USA’s Rupp 5th

Leave a comment

Four years after edging out American Galen Rupp for gold in the men’s 10,000 meters, Great Britain’s Mo Farah returned to the Olympics with hopes of becoming the third straight repeat gold medalist in the event. Ethiopia’s Haile Gebrselassie took gold in 1996 and 2000, with fellow Ethiopian Kenenisa Bekele winning the 10,000 in 2004 and 2008.

WATCH: Farah falls, still wins second straight gold in 10,000 meters

Farah managed to join those two in winning a second consecutive gold medal in the event, winning in 27:05.17. Farah collided with another runner and fell early in the race, an occurrence that would long-lasting effects on some runners even with the 10,000 meters being as long of a race as it is. But Farah got back to his feet in short order, even flashing a “thumbs up” while running to show that he was OK, and ultimately went on to out-kick Kenya’s Paul Tanui down the stretch and win a second Olympic gold medal.

Tanui took silver with a time of 27:05.64, with Eithopia’s Tamirat Tola taking bronze at 27:06.26.

All three Americans in the race failed to medal, with 2012 silver medalist Galen Rupp finishing fifth despite posting a season-best time of 27:08.92. Leonard Korir finished 14th with a season-best time of 27:35.65, and Shadrack Kipchirchir finished 19th with a season-best time of 27:58.32.

Chicago Marathon canceled; one major marathon left in 2020

Chicago Marathon
Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Chicago Marathon, scheduled for Oct. 11, was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic, becoming the fourth World Marathon Major called off this year.

Organizers cited the challenge of staging the 45,000-runner event “out of concern for the safety of event participants, volunteers, event staff and spectators.”

Previously, major marathons were canceled in Berlin (originally scheduled for Sept. 27), Boston (April 20, then Sept. 14) and New York City (Nov. 1). The London Marathon, originally scheduled for April 26 and postponed to Oct. 4, remains scheduled.

The other World Marathon Major, Tokyo, took place on its scheduled date of March 1 but with elite runners only.

Last year, Kenyan Brigid Kosgei won Chicago by taking 81 seconds off Paula Radcliffe‘s 16-year-old women’s marathon world record. Kosgei clocked 2:14:04.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials results

Figure skating Grand Prix events in China remain scheduled

Grand Prix Final
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Figure skating Grand Prix events in China in November and December remain scheduled, the International Skating Union announced Monday, four days after reports about international sporting events in China being canceled through the end of 2020.

A notice about sports events, issued Thursday by the General Administration of Sport of China, made an exception for Beijing Winter Olympic test events and other preparations for the first Winter Games in China in February 2022.

The Grand Prix Final, the second-most prestigious annual figure skating competition, is still scheduled for December in Beijing because it is an Olympic test event.

Furthermore, the Cup of China, one of six events across the globe that determines Grand Prix Final qualifiers, remains scheduled for November in Chongqing because it is related to the Final.

“Like for all other five ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating events in the different countries, this is of course subject to finding the necessary logistical, medical and safety solutions to hold the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating events as planned,” according to the ISU.

The ISU previously announced it set a deadline to decide on possible event cancellations: 12 weeks before an event starts. For the first Grand Prix Series competition, Skate America in Las Vegas, the decision deadline is Aug. 1.

The ISU council will meet virtually on Aug. 3 to decide on further action for upcoming competitions.

MORE: Tai Babilonia, a Winter Olympic original, credits skating trailblazer

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!