Winter Olympics late night: What to watch/stream

Getty Images
1 Comment

PyeongChang is in for a busy day on Monday, with Team USA flag bearer Erin Hamlin in action in the women’s individual luge. She faces a mammoth task in challenging the German squad for that gold medal.

Elsewhere, the Dutch will be looking to sweep the speed skating podium for the second time in as many attempts, while Laura Dalhmeier looks to win her second gold in PyeongChang in the women’s biathlong 10km pursuit.

Ice Hockey

The women’s ice hockey tournament continues with Switzerland taking on Japan. The Swiss thrashed Korea 8-0 to spoil the unified team’s debut. Japan proved that they won’t be slouches in the tournament this year, just being edged out by Sweden 1-2 in the opener. The Japanese women’s team says that they’re not satisfied just playing this year; they want a medal. They’ll need a positive result against the Swiss if they are to have any chance.

Things don’t get any easier for Korea as they take on Sweden. The Swedes will certainly be on their guards now following a first round scare versus Japan.

SUI vs. JPN Stream Live Here 2:40a.m. EST / 11:40p.m. PST

SWE vs. KOR Stream Live Here 7:10 a.m. EST / 4:10a.m. PST

Biathlon

Laura Dalhmeier cruised to gold in the women’s 7.5km sprint and is not expected to let up in the pursuit. Belarus’ Darya Domracheva had a disappointing run, missing two of her targets, finishing sixth. The three-time Olympic gold medalist knows that she has to clean up her shooting if she’s to contend. America’s Susan Dunklee failed to qualify for the event, having finished 66th in the sprint.

Women’s 10km Pursuit Stream Live Here 5:10a.m. EST / 2:10a.m. PST

Men’s 10km Pursuit Stream Live Here 7:00a.m. EST / 4:00a.m. PST

Freestyle Skiing

Mikael Kingsbury looks unbeatable heading into the men’s individual moguls final. The 2014 silver medalist finished atop his qualifying heat with a score of 86.07. America will be led by Troy Murphy, whose fourth place effort was enough to send him to the finals as well.

Men’s Individual Moguls Final Stream Live Here 7:00a.m. EST / 4:00a.m. PST

Luge

American flag bearer Erin Hamlin gets her first crack on the track. She will not be entering this event as the favorite, however. That distinction belongs to Germany’s Geisenberger, who’ll be hoping to continue Germany’s dominant grip on the sport.

Women’s Singles Runs 1 and 2 Stream Live Here 5:50a.m. EST / 2:50a.m. PST

Curling

Switzerland take on the Olympic Athletes from Russia in the second semifinal. Switzerland won their first match-up 9-8, thanks in part to a massive final end in which they scored three points to steal the victory. What’s the benefit of playing the same team twice? Learning from the first match. Russia will be looking at how they could better protect their lead (should they get one), and Switzerland will know that they can’t put themselves in that kind of hole again.

SUI vs. OAR Stream Live Here 6:05a.m. EST / 3:05a.m. PST

Speed Skating

The Netherlands already swept the podium once in PyeongChang so far, can they do it again? Ireen Wuest was one of the three Dutch ladies to land on the podium in the 3,000m, and she’ll certainly be looking to double her medal tally in 2018.

Women’s 1,500m Stream Live Here 7:30a.m. EST / 4:30a.m. PST

Ski jumping 

Will anyone be able to stop Maren Lundby? Before the qualifying trials have begun, the Norwegian finished first in two of her training runs. She has also won six of 10 World Cup events this circuit. So who could possibly pose a challenge to her? Daniela Iraschko-Stolz had a solid training session as well; however, 2014 gold medalist Carina Vogt will need to turn a corner quickly if she is to have any shot at defending her gold.

Women’s Individual Normal Final Stream Live Here 7:00a.m. EST / 4:00a.m. PST

2022 Ironman Kona World Championships results

Ironman Kona World Championships
Getty
0 Comments

2022 Ironman Kona World Championship top-10 results and notables (full, searchable pro and age group results are here) …

Pro Women
1. Chelsea Sodaro (USA) — 8:33:46
2. Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR) — 8:41:37
3. Anne Haug (GER) — 8:42:22
4. Laura Philipp (GER) — 8:50:31
5. Lisa Norden (SWE) — 8:54:43
6. Fenella Langridge (GBR) — 8:56:26
7. Sarah Crowley (AUS) — 9:01:58
8. Daniela Ryf (SUI) — 9:02:26
9. Skye Moench (USA) — 9:04:31
10. Laura Siddall (GBR) — 9:07:49
16. Heather Jackson (USA) — 9:22:17
DNF. Sarah True (USA)

Pro Men
Race is on Saturday, live on Peacock at 12 p.m. ET.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Chelsea Sodaro wins Ironman Kona World Championship, ends American drought

Chelsea Sodaro
Getty
0 Comments

Chelsea Sodaro was the surprise winner of the Ironman Kona World Championships women’s race, ending the longest American victory drought in the event’s 44-year history.

Sodaro, a 33-year-old mom to an 18-month-old, prevailed in an unofficial 8 hours, 33 minutes, 46 seconds on Hawaii’s Big Island.

“My mind is a little bit blown right now,” she said in a finish area interview 25 minutes later, standing next to her daughter, Skylar. “This is the culmination of things being right in my life and having perspective. … This is freakin’ incredible, but the greatest gift at the end of the finish line is my little 18-month-old.”

Sodaro was in fifth place after the 2.6-mile swim and 112-mile bike, then recorded one of the fastest 26.2-mile marathon runs in event history (2:51:45) to win by 7 minutes, 50 seconds over Brit Lucy Charles-Barclay.

Swiss Daniela Ryf, who was eyeing her sixth Ironman world title, led after the bike but faded quickly on the run.

MORE: Ironman Kona Race Results

Sodaro, whose lone previous full Ironman was a second-place finish at June’s European Championships (reportedly in the second-fastest Ironman distance debut in history), became the first American to win in Kona since Tim DeBoom in 2002 and the first American to win the women’s race since Zimbabwean-turned-American Paula Newby-Fraser in 1996.

She is the first woman or man to win in their Kona debut since Brit Chrissie Wellington took the first of her four titles in 2007.

Sodaro (née Reilly) was an All-America runner at Cal, then placed 19th in the 10,000m at the 2016 U.S. Olympic Track and Field Trials.

She turned to triathlon in 2017, made podiums on the World Cup circuit (just below the top-level World Series for Olympic hopefuls) and moved up to long-distance racing in 2018.

At the half Ironman distance, she was fourth at the 2019 World Championships, her last major championship start before the pandemic, pregnancy, childbirth and a move up to the full Ironman this year.

“I’m pretty stoked that I think I maybe get to take the rest of the year off and be a mom for a month or so,” Sodaro said.

The pro men’s race is Saturday, live on Peacock at 12 p.m. ET.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!