Winter Olympics: What to watch/stream

Getty Images
0 Comments

Ted Ligety features on NBC’s primetime coverage, as the skier goes back to the slopes for the men’s giant slalom. Ligety returns to PyeongChang as the defending champion, but will face stiff competition.

The man who’ll be leading that front is Marcel Hirscher, who entered PyeongChang as perhaps the best athlete never to have won an Olympic medal. That moniker changed when he won the super combined event just a couple of days ago. Now, bristling with confidence, the Austrian is poised to make a run for gold at Ligety’s expense.

Continue reading to find out what else is on tap in PyeongChang tonight.


Alpine Skiing

Hirscher and Ligety currently hold the most World Cup podium finishes and are the two men to beat on Saturday night. Matts Olsson of Sweden and Alexis Pinturault are also serious medal contenders.

Men’s Giant Slalom Run 1 Stream Live Here 8:15p.m. EST / 5:15p.m. PST

Men’s Giant Slalom Run 2 Stream Live Here 11:45p.m. EST / 8:45p.m. PST

Freestyle Skiing

The U.S. swept the podium in this event four years ago, but they face a couple of challenges this year. Gus Kenworthy, who won the silver, broke his thumb just a couple days ago. Though he’s still competing in the event, it will be a slight hindrance in his medal hopes.

A strong international field also awaits the men’s team, with Canada and Sweden bringing in particularly strong teams.

Full men’s freeski slopestyle preview here 

Men’s Freeski Slopestyle Qualification Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST

Men’s Freeski Slopestyle Finals Stream Live Here 11:15p.m. EST / 8:15p.m. PST

Curling

The American men’s curling team have been performing above expectations so far, currently at 2-2. Only four teams qualify for the knockout phase, and with Sweden and Canada both perfect four games in, the U.S. are one of four teams at .500 right now. They’ve got a very winnable match against Japan, and a positive result could really put the Americans in a good chance to progress.

The U.S. women, too, have been a pleasant surprise this year. They’ll face down-on-their-luck Canada, who are astonishingly 0-3 in the tournament. With the defending gold medal champions’ hopes fading by the day, it’s a perfect opportunity for the U.S. women to make a go in the group stage.

Men’s Tournament

DEN vs. NOR Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST / 4:05p.m.PST

USA vs. JPN Stream Live Here 7:05p.n. EST / 4:05p.m. PST

CAN vs. SUI Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. EST  4:05p.m. PST

Women’s Tournament

USA vs. CAN Stream Live Here 5:00p.m. EST / 2:00p.m. PST

Hockey

Germany and Norway are both sitting on 0 wins so far. Neither were pegged to get positive results against group mates Sweden and Finland.

Men’s Tournament

GER vs. NOR Stream Live Here 10:10p.m. EST / 7:10p.m. PST

Women’s Tournament

Classification Game 1 COR vs. SUI Stream Live Here 10:10p.m. EST / 7:10p.m. PST

 

 

Lucas Braathen, world’s top male slalom skier, in doubt for world championships

Lucas Braathen
Getty
0 Comments

Norway’s Lucas Braathen, the world’s top male slalom skier this season, is doubtful to compete in the world championships slalom on Feb. 19 after appendix surgery on Tuesday.

“It’s been a tough couple of days fighting after surprisingly finding out about quite an intense infection on my appendix,” Braathen, a 22-year-old soccer convert with a Brazilian mom, posted on social media. “I’ve been through surgery and I’m blessed that it went successfully.”

The Norway Alpine skiing team doctor said Braathen’s recovery will take a few weeks, but there is a small possibility he can make it back for the world championships slalom, which is on the final day of the two-week competition.

Braathen has two slalom wins and one giant slalom win this World Cup season. He will miss Saturday’s slalom in Chamonix, France, the last race before worlds. Countryman Henrik Kristoffersen and Swiss Daniel Yule can overtake him atop the World Cup slalom standings in Chamonix.

Braathen entered last year’s Olympics as the World Cup slalom leader and skied out in the first run at the Games.

ALPINE SKIING WORLDS: Broadcast Schedule

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Sifan Hassan sets marathon debut

Sifan Hassan
Getty
0 Comments

Sifan Hassan, who won 5000m and 10,000m gold and 1500m bronze at the Tokyo Olympics in an unprecedented triple, will make her 26.2-mile debut at the London Marathon on April 23.

Hassan, a 30-year-old Dutchwoman, said she will return to the track after the race, but how the London Marathon goes will play into whether she bids for the Olympic marathon in 2024.

“I want to see what I can do on the marathon distance, to make future decisions,” she posted on social media. “We’ll see if I will finish the distance or if the distance will finish me.”

Exhausted by her Olympic feat, Hassan reportedly went at least seven months after the Tokyo Games between training in track spikes. She finished fourth in the 10,000m and sixth in the 5000m at last July’s world championships in Eugene, Oregon.

“I really needed a break after the Tokyo Olympics,” Hassan said at worlds. “I was mentally crashed. I didn’t even care about running.”

London, billed as the best women’s marathon field in history, also boasts Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir of Kenya, world record holder Brigid Kosgei of Kenya, 2016 Olympic 10,000m champion Almaz Ayana of Ethiopia, 1500m world record holder Genzebe Dibaba of Ethiopia and the two fastest Americans in history, Emily Sisson and Keira D’Amato.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!