Getty Images

Winter Olympics: What to watch/stream

Leave a comment

The pairs ice dance concludes tonight with the free dance. The Shibutani siblings will return ready to fight for a medal after they finished fourth in their program last night. The real fight for gold, however, will come down to the best two pairs in the world right now: Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir, and Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron.

The men’s U.S. hockey team also enters the single knockout phase of competition tonight in a repeat match against Slovakia, whom they beat in the group stages. The winner awaits a showdown with the Olympic Athletes from Russia.

Scroll below for the full schedule.


Figure Skating

Aside from just the Shibutanis fighting for a medal spot are Madison Hubbell and Zachary Donohue, who currently sit in third. It’s no surprise to see Moir and Virtue fighting Papadakis and Cizeron at the top.

After the ice dance concludes with the free dance, Krista Yamaguchi, Charlie White, and Ben Agosto break down the action from tonight’s free dance competition.

Ice Dance Free Dance Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST  5:00p.m. PST

Olympic Ice Post Show Stream Live Here 11:30p.m. EST / 8:30p.m. PST

Hockey 

The U.S. were heavily beaten by OAR to close out the group stage, losing 0-4. They have the possibility of setting up a rematch against the Russians to settle the score, but must first take on another group mate in Slovakia. The USA won their first match 2-1 and, with OAR in their sights, ought to have the focus to see off this foe.

Men’s Qualifying Playoff: USA vs. SVK Stream Live Here 10:10p.m. EST / 7:10p.m. PST

Women’s Classification: SWE vs. COR Stream Live Here 10:10p.m. EST / 7:10p.m. PST

Freestyle Skiing

Three American women have advanced to the finals of the freeski halfpipe, but they’ll all be chasing Cassie Sharpe. The Canadian led the field with a score of 93.40. If Brita Sogourney can maintain the level of performance that she put on Sunday, then she could be America’s best hope for a medal.

Women’s Freeski Halfpipe Final Stream Live Here 8:30p.m. EST / 5:30p.m. PST

Men’s Freeski Halfpipe Qualifying Stream Live Here 11:00p.m. EST / 8:00p.m. PST

Curling

The American and Canadian women both must win this game if they are to have any chance of advancing to the semifinals. Both are sitting at 3-3, with the Canadians continuing their comeback after starting the tournament 0-3.

Only three games remain in both the men’s and women’s competitions, which means increasingly important fixtures as teams try to make their way out of the congestion. Two of those teams are Great Britain and Norway, and the loser will probably miss out on the playoffs barring something dramatic.

Women’s Tournament

USA vs. CAN Stream Live Here 5:00p.m. EST / 2:00p.m. PST

Men’s Tournament

GBR vs. NOR Stream Live Here 7:05p.m.EST / 4:05p.m. PST

JPN vs. CAN Stream Live Here 7:05p.m.EST / 4:05p.m. PST

ITA vs. SWE Stream Live Here 7:05p.m.EST / 4:05p.m. PST

SUI vs. KOR Stream Live Here 7:05p.m.EST / 4:05p.m. PST

 

 

2020 French Open women’s singles draw, bracket

Leave a comment

If Serena Williams is to win a record-tying 24th Grand Slam singles title at the French Open, she may have to go through her older sister in the fourth round.

Williams, the sixth seed, could play Venus Williams in the round of 16 at Roland Garros, which begins Sunday.

Serena opens against countrywoman Kristie Ahn, whom she beat in the first round at the U.S. Open. Serena could then get her U.S. Open quarterfinal opponent, fellow mom Tsvetana Pironkova of Bulgaria, in the second round.

If Venus is to reach the fourth round, she must potentially get past U.S. Open runner-up Victoria Azarenka in the second round. Azarenka beat Serena in the U.S. Open semifinals, ending the American’s latest bid to tie Margaret Court‘s major titles record.

Venus lost in the French Open first round the last two years.

The French Open top seed is 2018 champion Simona Halep, who could play 2019 semifinalist Amanda Anisimova in the third round.

Coco Gauff, the rising 16-year-old American, gets 2019 semifinalist Jo Konta of Great Britain in the first round in the same quarter of the draw as Halep.

The field lacks defending champion Ash Barty of Australia, not traveling due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Also out: U.S. Open winner Naomi Osaka, citing a sore hamstring and tight turnaround from prevailing in New York two weeks ago.

FRENCH OPEN DRAWS: Men | Women | TV Schedule

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

French Open Women's Draw French Open Women's Draw French Open Women's Draw French Open Women's Draw

2020 French Open men’s singles draw, bracket

Leave a comment

Rafael Nadal was put into the same half of the French Open draw as fellow 2018 and 2019 finalist Dominic Thiem of Austria, with top-ranked Novak Djokovic catching a break.

Nadal, trying to tie Roger Federer‘s male record 20 Grand Slam singles titles, could play sixth-seeded German Alexander Zverev in the quarterfinals before a potential clash with Thiem, who just won the U.S. Open.

Djokovic, who is undefeated in 2020 save being defaulted out of the U.S. Open, could play No. 7 seed Matteo Berrettini of Italy in the quarterfinals before a possible semifinal with Russian Daniil Medvedev.

Medvedev is the fourth seed but is 0-3 at the French Open. Another possible Djokovic semifinal opponent is fifth seed Stefanos Tsitsipas of Greece, who reached the fourth round last year.

The most anticipated first-round matchup is between three-time major champion Andy Murray and 2015 French Open champion Stan Wawrinka. In Murray’s most recent French Open match, he lost in five sets to Wawrinka in the 2017 semifinals.

FRENCH OPEN DRAWS: Men | Women | TV Schedule

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

French Open Men's Draw French Open Men's Draw French Open Men's Draw French Open Men's Draw