Getty Imahes

Winter Olympics: What to watch/stream

Leave a comment

It’s the final few days of Olympic action, and the snowboarding competition is wrapping up. Mark McMorris of Canada continues his remarkable comeback ever since his life-threatening crash last year. The Canadian, who won the silver in the slopestyle, will be trying to do one better in the big air.

The four-man bobsled race also begins tonight as the Germans and Latvians battle it out for gold. There’s bound to be emotion on the track for the U.S. men’s bobsled team, whose member Steve Holcomb passed away last year. They will be piloted by Justin Olsen.

Continue reading below to check out the full schedule of tonight’s events


Snowboarding

Three Americans feature in the men’s big air final. Red Gerard, slopestyle gold medalist, barely made it through the qualifying phase. One notable absentee, though, is Marcus Kleveland. The 18-year old Norwegian failed to make it out of qualifying despite being a medal favorite, which now leaves the door open for an outsider.

Keep an eye on Carlos Garcia Knight from New Zealand. The Kiwi had a very strong slopestyle run and also performed well during the qualifying. Canada’s Max Parrot and Mark McMorris are favorites to claim the top two spots.

Ester Ledecka, who came out of nowhere to win the women’s giant slalom last week, is the big name to look out for in the snowboard parallel runs. Can she walk away with both a skiing and a snowboarding medal?

Men’s Big Air Final Stream Live Here 8:00p.m. EST / 5:00p.m. PST

Men’s and Women’s Parallel Slalom Qualifying Stream Live Here 7:00p.m. EST / 4:00p.m. PST

Men’s and Women’s Parallel Slalom Elimination Runs Stream Live Here 11:30p.m. EST / 8:30p.m. PST

Bobsled

German sleds crowded the top of the standings in the men’s two-man bobsled races earlier this week, and a potential sweep is at stake here. The most likely teams to challenge the Germans for a spot on the podium will be Canada and Latvia.

The U.S. bobsled will be piloted by Justin Olsen, whose Olympics were in doubt a few weeks ago when he had an appendectomy. The American sleds finished in the middle of the pack in the two-man bobsled, but still far away from contending for a medal.

Full four-man bobsled preview available here 

Four Man Bobsled Runs 1-2 Stream Live Here 7:30p.m. EST / 4:30p.m. PST

Alpine Skiing

Team Event Stream Live Here 9:00p.m. EST / 6:00p.m. PST

 

Chinese figure skating judges banned for biased Olympic scoring

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Two Chinese figure skating judges were suspended by the International Skating Union for biased judging at the PyeongChang Olympics.

Chen Weiguang and Huang Feng had “preferential marking” for top Chinese skaters Jin Boyang (fourth place in PyeongChang) and the silver medalist pairs’ team of Sui Wenjing and Han Cong, respectively, according to the ISU.

Chen was banned two years and excluded from the 2022 Winter Olympics in Beijing. Huang got a one-year ban.

Chen awarded her highest grades of execution scores of the men’s competition to Jin, as well as her second-highest program components scores, trailing only gold medalist Yuzuru Hanyu. Both sets of scores, in both the short and long programs, were out of line with the other eight judges.

“There is evidence of preference for the Chinese skater and prejudice against his strongest competitors,” an ISU report read. “Her marks were completely unrealistic.”

The pairs’ judge Huang “obviously favored his pair also vis-à-vis the other top candidates for the Olympic gold medal,” the ISU said in a report, referencing inflated scores for Sui and Han and lower scores for gold and bronze medalists Aljona Savchenko and Bruno Massot of Germany and Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford of Canada.

Huang was warned one month before the Olympics by the ISU for biased judging at the December 2017 Grand Prix Final pairs’ event.

Both suspensions are subject to appeal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Adam Rippon opines on figure skating future

Javier Fernandez to skip Grand Prix, still compete next season

Getty Images
1 Comment

Javier Fernandez, who in PyeongChang became the first Spanish Olympic figure skating medalist, will skip the fall Grand Prix series but return for January’s European Championships, which could be his final competition.

Europeans will be Fernandez’s focus for the season, his agent said Tuesday.

Fernandez, 26, added an Olympic bronze medal to his 2015 and 2016 World titles. He has said that his third Olympics in PyeongChang would be his last. But Fernandez did not say he would retire after the Winter Games, though he did skip the world championships in March.

Fernandez now plans to compete in his 13th straight European Championships in Minsk in January. He won the last six titles. It’s unknown if he will continue on to the world championships in Saitama, Japan, in March.

In Fernandez’s absence, the top male singles skaters in the fall Grand Prix season should be double Olympic champion Yuzuru Hanyu, PyeongChang silver medalist Shoma Uno and American Nathan Chen, who was fifth at the Olympics after a disastrous short program but ran away with March’s world title by the largest margin in history.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Adam Rippon opines on figure skating future