USATF Indoors: Christian Coleman wins first national title since return from suspension


Christian Coleman won the 60m at the USA Track and Field Indoor Championships, his first national meet since his return from an 18-month suspension.

Coleman, the world’s fastest man in the last Olympic cycle, missed the Tokyo Games while banned for missing three drug tests in a 12-month span in 2019. He never failed a test, but missing tests can also carry penalties.

His ban ended in November. He returned to competition last month for the indoor season, which typically runs from January into late March.

On Sunday, Coleman won his third national indoor title at 60m, clocking 6.45 seconds in Spokane, Washington. It was off his world record of 6.34 from 2018, but matched the fastest time in the world this year.

He prevailed by .03 over fellow Rio Olympian Marvin Bracy.

USATF Indoors: Full Results

Coleman and Bracy both made the team for the world indoor championships in Belgrade, Serbia, in three weeks. In most cases, the top two per individual event at indoor nationals qualify for the world team.

In Belgrade, Coleman is expected to face surprise Olympic 100m champion Marcell Jacobs of Italy in the most anticipated head-to-head of the indoor season.

Also winning national titles Sunday: Olympic gold medalist Ryan Crouser (shot put) and silver medalists Sandi Morris (pole vault, with Tokyo gold medalist Katie Nageotte getting second) and Grant Holloway (60m hurdles).

Donavan Brazier, the world outdoor 800m champion who missed the Olympic team while injured, was second in the 400m to qualify for worlds.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

South Korea’s first gold medalist of 2018 PyeongChang Olympics to compete for China

Lim Hyo-Jun

Lim Hyo-Jun, a short track speed skater who won South Korea’s first gold medal of the 2018 PyeongChang Olympics, has been cleared to skate for China and was reportedly named to the national team Monday.

Lim, who won the 1500m on the first day of medal competition at the PyeongChang Games, began the process of switching to China after a June 2019 incident where he pulled down a teammate’s trousers, leaving him standing, exposed, in front of female teammates.

Lim, the 2019 World overall champion, was banned from the team for a year and later found guilty of sexual harassment before the verdict was overturned on appeal.

It was reported in March 2021 that Lim was in the process of trying to gain Chinese nationality to compete at the Beijing Winter Olympics, but Lim was not cleared to switch by the International Skating Union until this July. His Chinese name is Lin Xiaojun.

Another star South Korean skater, triple 2006 Olympic gold medalist Ahn Hyun-Soo, switched to Russia after not making the 2010 Olympic team. He then won three golds for the host nation as Viktor Ahn at the 2014 Sochi Games.

China’s national team for the upcoming season reportedly does not include veterans Wu Dajing, the nation’s lone gold medalist across all sports at the 2018 Olympics, and Fan Kexin, a three-time Olympic medalist.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Brigid Kosgei, world record holder, to miss London Marathon

Brigid Kosgei

World record holder Brigid Kosgei withdrew before Sunday’s London Marathon due to a right hamstring injury that has bothered her for the last month.

“My training has been up and down and not the way I would like to prepare to be in top condition,” was posted on Kosgei’s social media. “We’ve decided it’s best I withdraw from this year’s race and get further treatment on my injuries in order to enter 2023 stronger than ever.”

Kosgei, a 28-year-old Kenyan mother of twins, shattered the world record by 81 seconds at the 2019 Chicago Marathon. She clocked 2:14:04 to smash Brit Paula Radcliffe‘s record from 2003.

Since, Kosgei won the 2020 London Marathon, took silver at the Tokyo Olympics, placed fourth at the 2021 London Marathon and won this past March’s Tokyo Marathon in what was then the third-fastest time in history (2:16:02).

Ethiopian Tigist Assefa moved into the top three by winning the Berlin Marathon last Sunday in 2:15:37.

The London Marathon women’s field includes Kenyan Joyciline Jepkosgei, a winner in New York City (2019) and London (2021), and Yalemzerf Yehualaw, who was the Ethiopian record holder until Assefa won in Berlin.

The men’s field is headlined by Ethiopian Kenenisa Bekele, the second-fastest male marathoner in history, and Brit Mo Farah, a four-time Olympic champion on the track.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!