World Athletics announces Athlete of the Year nominees

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone
Getty Images

Americans Sydney McLaughlin-LevroneChase EaleyNoah Lyles and Grant Holloway are among the 10 women’s and 10 men’s nominees for World Athletics Athlete of the Year awards.

A three-way voting process will determine the five women’s and five men’s finalists: World Athletics Council (50%), World Athletics family (25%) and a fan vote (25%) via Facebook, Instagram and YouTube likes and Twitter retweets on the post for the specified athlete.

Voting closes at the end of Oct. 31. After the finalists are named, the winners will be announced in early December.

Jamaican Elaine Thompson-Herah and Norwegian Karsten Warholm won the awards last year. The last Americans to win were Dalilah Muhammad (2019) and Ashton Eaton (2015).

Female Athlete of the Year Nominees
Tobi Amusan
, Nigeria, 100m Hurdles
Broke world record in World Championships semifinals, then won the world title two hours later

Chase Ealey, USA, Shot Put
World Championships and Diamond League titles, plus had the Nos. 2-5 throws in American history

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Jamaica, 100m
World Championships and Diamond League titles, plus ran a record seven sub-10.70 races in one year (at age 35)

Kimberly Garcia, Peru, Race Walk
World titles in 20km, 35km events

Shericka Jackson, Jamaica, 200m
World Championships and Diamond League titles, plus the second-fastest time in history

Faith Kipyegon, Kenya, 1500m
World Championships and Diamond League titles, plus the second-fastest time in history

Yaroslava Mahuchikh, Ukraine, High Jump
World Indoor Champion, World Outdoor silver medalist, equaled national record clearance

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone, USA, 400m Hurdles
Broke world record twice, lowering it from 51.46 to 50.68, won world titles in 400m hurdles, 4x400m relay (seventh-fastest relay performer in history)

Shaunae Miller-Uibo, Bahamas, 400m
World Indoor and Outdoor titles

Yulimar Rojas, Venezuela, Triple Jump
World Indoor and Outdoor Championships and Diamond League titles, plus broke her own indoor (and overall) world record

Male Athlete of the Year Nominees
Kristjan Ceh
, Slovenia, Discus
World Championships and Diamond League titles, plus threw a national record

Alison dos Santos, Brazil, 400m Hurdles
World Championships and Diamond League titles, plus ran the third-fastest time in history

Mondo Duplantis, Sweden, Pole Vault
World Indoor and Outdoor Championships and Diamond League titles, plus improved his world record three times

Soufiane El Bakkali, Morocco, 3000m Steeplechase
World Championships and Diamond League titles, plus went undefeated in 2022

Grant Holloway, USA, 110m Hurdles
World Indoor and Outdoor Championships and Diamond League titles

Jakob Ingebrigtsen, Norway, 1500m/5000m
World Outdoor 5000m champion, World 1500m silver medalist (indoors and outdoors), ran world’s fastest mile in 21 years

Eliud Kipchoge, Kenya, Marathon
Lowered his world record from 2:01:39 to 2:01:09, won Berlin and Tokyo Marathons

Noah Lyles, USA, 200m
World Championships and Diamond League titles, plus broke Michael Johnson‘s American record to become third-fastest man in history

Anderson Peters, Grenada, Javelin
World title, plus became fifth-best performer in history

Pedro Pichardo, Portugal, Triple Jump
World Outdoor champion, World Indoor silver medalist

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

2022 Grand Prix Final figure skating TV, live stream schedule

Ilia Malinin

The Grand Prix Final, the most exclusive figure skating competition of the season and a preview of March’s world championships, airs live on Peacock and E! this week.

The top six per discipline from the six-event fall Grand Prix Series gather in Turin, Italy, at the Palavela, the 2006 Olympic venue. It’s the first Grand Prix Final in three years after the 2020 and 2021 events were canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The U.S. qualified skaters in all four disciplines for the first time since 2007, led by the world’s top-ranked man. Ilia Malinin, who turned 18 last Friday, has been the story of the season, becoming the first skater to land a quadruple Axel in competition.

Malinin, the reigning world junior champion, won both of his Grand Prix starts and posted the best total score among all fall events, edging world champion Shoma Uno of Japan. Malinin and Uno will go head-to-head for the first time this season at the Final.

Isabeau Levito, a 15-year-old world junior champion, is the youngest American at a Final since Caroline Zhang in 2007. She qualified in fifth place. The favorites are Japan’s Mai Mihara and Kaori Sakamoto and Belgian Loena Hendrickx.

The U.S. also qualified two pairs’ teams — world champions Alexa Knierim and Brandon Frazier and Emily Chan and Spencer Howe — and two ice dance couples — three-time world medalists Madison Chock and Evan Bates and Kaitlin Hawayek and Jean-Luc Baker.

For the first time, the Final has no Russian skaters. They are banned from international competition due to the war in Ukraine. For the first time in 25 years, there are no Chinese skaters. China’s top pairs’ teams did not compete in the fall Grand Prix Series.

Grand Prix Final Broadcast Schedule
All TV coverage also streams on and the NBC Sports app for subscribers.

Day Event Time (ET) Platform
Thursday Pairs’ Short Program 1:20-2:15 p.m. Peacock
Men’s Short Program 2:35-3:20 p.m. Peacock
Friday Pairs’ Free Skate 11:35 a.m.-12:40 p.m. Peacock
Rhythm Dance 1:50-2:45 p.m. Peacock
Women’s Short Program 3:05-3:50 p.m. Peacock
Saturday Men’s Short Program* 6:30-7:30 a.m. E!
Men’s Free Skate 7:30-8:30 a.m. E!, Peacock
Women’s Short Program* 8:30-9:30 a.m. E!
Free Dance 1:40-2:40 p.m. Peacock
Women’s Free Skate 3-3:55 p.m. Peacock
Sunday Highlights* 4-6 p.m. NBC

*Delayed broadcast.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Aleksander Aamodt Kilde sweeps Beaver Creek World Cup races


Norway’s Aleksander Aamodt Kilde held off Swiss Marco Odermatt for a second consecutive day to sweep World Cup races in Beaver Creek, Colorado, this weekend.

Kilde won Sunday’s super-G by two tenths of a second over Odermatt, one day after edging Odermatt by six hundredths. France’s Alexis Pinturault took third as the podium was made up of the last three men to win the World Cup overall title, the biggest annual prize in ski racing.

This season’s overall figures to be a two-man battle between Kilde, the 2019-20 champion, and Odermatt, the reigning champion, and could come down to March’s World Cup Finals. They’ve combined to win the first five of 38 scheduled races.

The top American Sunday was River Radamus, who finished an impressive 16th given his start number was 57. Radamus’ best event is the giant slalom.

Ryan Cochran-Siegle, the Olympic super-G silver medalist, and Travis Ganong, who was third in Beaver Creek last year, both skied out.

The men’s World Cup heads next weekend to Val d’Isere, France, for a giant slalom and slalom.

ALPINE SKIING: Results | Broadcast Schedule

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!