Lou Marsh Trophy

Getty Images

Mikael Kingsbury named Canada Athlete of the Year

Leave a comment

Mikael Kingsbury, the Olympic moguls champion, is the first freestyle skier to win the Lou Marsh Trophy, Canada’s athlete of the year award.

Kingsbury, 26, dominated in PyeongChang, receiving the highest scores for time, turns and air moves in the final to win by 4.06 points. It marked the first instance in moguls history that a man topped the final field in all three categories that make up the total score, albeit the format moved from a 20-skier final to a six-skier final in 2014.

Kingsbury also finished first or second in all eight World Cup moguls or dual moguls events so far in 2018. He’s up to 50 World Cup victories, breaking the moguls record shared by U.S. Olympic champions Donna Weinbrecht and Hannah Kearney.

The other reported Lou Marsh finalists were:

Brooke Henderson, Golf: Second in the LPGA Tour’s Race to the CME Globe
Kaitlyn Lawes, Curling: Olympic mixed doubles, world women’s titles
Connor McDavid, Hockey: 2017-18 NHL points leader, most outstanding player
Kaetlyn Osmond, Figure Skating: Olympic bronze medalist, world champion

The Lou Marsh Trophy went to an Olympian 15 times in the last 20 years, most recently Olympic 100m freestyle swimming champion Penny Oleksiak in 2016. Winners in Winter Olympic years included speed skaters Catriona LeMay Doan (2002) and Cindy Klassen (2006) and bobsledder Kaillie Humphries (2014), all gold medalists those years.

That history worked against Henderson and McDavid, who didn’t have an Olympics in 2018. Osmond had arguably the best year for an individual Canadian figure skater with her three major medals, but Russians Alina Zagitova and Yevgenia Medvedeva beat her in PyeongChang.

Lawes led all women in shooting percentage in the first Olympic mixed-doubles event and led her team (skipped by Sochi Olympic champ skip Jennifer Jones) in shooting in the gold-medal game of the world championship a month later.

Olympic ice dance champions Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir were ineligible for the individual award together, according to Canadian media.

The Lou Marsh Trophy, named after the former Toronto Star sports editor and columnist, is annually voted on by Canadian sports journalists.

MORE: U.S. figure skating rankings going into nationals

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Kaillie Humphries wins Canada Athlete of the Year

Leave a comment

Olympic bobsled champion Kaillie Humphries won the Lou Marsh Trophy, awarded to Canada’s Athlete of the Year.

The award, named after the former Toronto Star sports editor and columnist, was voted on by Canadian sports journalists on Wednesday.

The other finalists were tennis players Eugenie Bouchard and Milos Ranoic, hockey player Drew Doughty and lacrosse player Johnny Powless, according to the Canadian reports.

In Sochi, the tattooed Humphries became the first woman to repeat as an Olympic bobsled gold medalist. Women’s bobsled has been on the Olympic program since 2002.

Humphries is expected to make her four-man bobsled World Cup driving debut on Dec. 20 in Calgary. Four-man bobsled was made gender neutral by the international bobsled federation starting this season.

She’s the first bobsledder to win the award.

Other top Canadian athletes this year were Olympic champions Alex Bilodeau and Justine Dufour-Lapointe (moguls), Marielle Thompson (ski cross) and Marie Philip-Poulin (hockey).

Bouchard won 48 percent of votes in the first 2,500 votes of a Toronto Star public poll that did not officially factor into the selection. Humphries was second in that poll of 14 athletes with 17 percent. Sidney Crosby had less than 1 percent.

Canadian Football League running back Jon Cornish won the award last year.

Hockey is Canada’s sport, but Crosby is the only hockey player to win the Lou Marsh Trophy since Mario Lemieux in 1993. Crosby won in 2007 and 2009 (but baseball player Joey Votto won in 2010, the year Crosby scored Canada’s golden goal to win the Vancouver Olympics).

From 1984 through 2008, every Lou Marsh winner in an Olympic year was an Olympic or Paralympic champion.

‘Foxcatcher’ racks up Golden Globe, SAG nominations