the netherlands

Most decorated Olympians in Sochi, together in one photo

Leave a comment

Victor Ahn of Russia and Ireen Wuest of the Netherlands can both be very proud of their Sochi Olympics.

Ahn has earned four medals (including three golds) on the short track, while Wuest has earned five medals (including two golds) in long-track speedskating.

They are the most decorated male and female Olympians in Sochi, respectively.

And earlier on Saturday, they got together for a picture.

Two great competitors, indeed.

Dutch speedskaters win seventh Sochi gold in men’s team pursuit

Leave a comment

More gold for the Oranje.

10,000m winner Jorrit Bergsma’s boycott had no effect whatsoever on the Dutch’s men’s team pursuit trio of Sven Kramer, Koen Verweij, and Jan Blokhuijsen, who set an Olympic record time of 3:37.71 to give the Netherlands their seventh speedskating gold medal and 22nd speedskating medal altogether in Sochi.

Korea’s team of Joo Hyong-Jun, Kim Cheol-Min, and Lee Seung-Hoon gave the Dutch a surprising challenge early in the race, pulling within .05 of a second with five laps to go.

But Kramer, Verweij, and Blokhuijsen proceeded to pull away in the closing circuits and wound up taking the race by 3.14 seconds.

In the B Final that determined the bronze medal, Poland’s team of Zbigniew Brodka, Konrad Niedzwiedzki, and Jan Szymanski came from behind late to defeat Canada’s Mathieu Giroux, Lucas Makowsky, and Denny Morrison by 2.33 seconds.

MORE: South Korea protests Adelina Sotnikova’s win in figure skating

1. Netherlands, 3:37.71 – OR

2. Korea, 3:40.85
3. Poland, 3:41.94

10,000m winner Jorrit Bergsma boycotts Dutch team pursuit squad


Controversy has finally found the most dominant speedskating team at the Sochi Olympics.

Saying that he feels excluded after being assigned as a substitute for the Dutch in today’s team pursuit finals, Jorrit Bergsma – who set an new Olympic record on the way to 10,000m gold earlier this week – has boycotted the pursuit team.

According to the Associated Press, Bergsma told Netherlands-based TV network NOS that he was counted on “only in emergencies” while teammates Sven Kramer, Koen Verweij, and Jan Blokhuijsen combined to make their way into the finals in dominating fashion.

MORE: South Korea lodges protest of Sotnikova’s win over Kim

Yesterday, the Kramer/Verweij/Blokhuijsen triumvirate won their quarterfinal heat over France by almost nine seconds, and then won their semifinal over Poland by over 11 seconds.

Today, they’ll match up against Korea in the A Final.

As for the impact of Bergsma’s boycott, it’s pretty much next to zero unless Kramer, Verweij or Blokhuijsen go down with an injury before today’s races, which go off at 8:30 a.m. ET.

CLICK HERE AT 8:30 A.M. ET to watch it on